HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Apr 29, 2011, 10:42 AM
I'm a pilot... 100 yrs to late
USA, FL, Palm Harbor
Joined Jan 2005
3,460 Posts
Question
Lightweight large amount cheap covering ideas

I'm looking something lighweight, and cheap that I can use to cover an approx 30 ft span wing. Does not need to be continuous in length but would prefer longer sections.

For example extrap large garbage bags opened up would have possibilities but I'm wonderign if the all the seams needing joining would be an issue. Maybe they could be melted together to form a continous sheet. Think outside the box!!

Any ideas and suggestions are very much appreciated.... This is for the redbull flugtag competition assuming my application gets picked

Thanks,
Mike
Thermalin is offline Find More Posts by Thermalin
to remove ads between posts
Old May 08, 2011, 07:59 PM
De-Brushed user
Midland, Tx / W. Lafayette, Ind.
Joined Dec 2002
2,949 Posts
Go to the hardware store and look in the painting section, you should be able to find a drop cloth that will handle the whole span with no seams. Also, they come in different thicknesses. For more strength consider a tarp, the fiberglass fibers will be alot stronger.

I did Flugtag: Had some fun but got a pretty good concussion.
CAFplanekid is offline Find More Posts by CAFplanekid
Old May 25, 2011, 12:51 PM
USA, FL, Palm Harbor
Joined Jan 2005
3,460 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by CAFplanekid View Post
Go to the hardware store and look in the painting section, you should be able to find a drop cloth that will handle the whole span with no seams. Also, they come in different thicknesses. For more strength consider a tarp, the fiberglass fibers will be alot stronger.

I did Flugtag: Had some fun but got a pretty good concussion.
thanks.. I plan on pretty much disguising a primary glider and of course plan to wear a helmet which may or may or may not help.
Old May 25, 2011, 07:39 PM
De-Brushed user
Joined Dec 2002
2,949 Posts
Quote: