New Products Flash Sale
Old Jul 15, 2015, 07:46 PM
Find More Posts by MIGPILOT44
United States, PA
Joined Dec 2013
581 Posts
Discussion
Best Canopy / Window Glue?

Hello all, looking to get some advice on what everyone is using for canopy / window glue on their scale heli builds. What's the best stuff on the market these days? I've been using RC56 and RC560 for quite a few years on my past builds but was wondering what other modelers are using.

My partcular build in question is a 550 sized Funkey Jet Ranger. The front windshield, lower and upper glass are semi tinted. The front windshield actually has a black painted trim piece around the plastic windshield that should hide any residue or glue build up if I'm careful. The front windshield fits quite well but will still need to be taped down if using RC560 while it cures.

RC560 seems so thin and has a long cure time. Any help as to what you folks are using would be greatly appreciated.
MIGPILOT44 is offline Find More Posts by MIGPILOT44
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 15, 2015, 10:46 PM
Find More Posts by Keyrigger
Love my scale Whirlybirds
Mississauga, Ont., Can.
Joined Sep 2009
2,634 Posts
Of the glues I have tried so far, you won't get much better than 560. I used it for, not only gluing the windows, but also for rivets on my CH-139. I tried Deluxe Materials RC Modellers Craft Glue but had poorer results and redid the fit with 560. I have also tried, successfully, to use Shoe Goo on my first Jet Ranger. It works well but the squeezed out residue is harder to remove compared to 560. Hope this helps.

Don
Keyrigger is offline Find More Posts by Keyrigger
Old Jul 16, 2015, 07:31 AM
Find More Posts by getsuyoubi
United States, NY, New York
Joined Sep 2013
492 Posts