HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 25, 2014, 06:36 PM
AndyKunz's Avatar
Illinois
Joined Sep 2001
25,259 Posts
Discussion
Focal length tool

I drew this focal length tool in TurboCAD to work on my LightObjects.com laser head.

At some point I'll convert it to 3D (unless somebody beats me to it) so I can print one.

Enjoy!

Andy
AndyKunz is offline Find More Posts by AndyKunz
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 26, 2014, 10:38 AM
Designing something...
United States, CA, Cameron Park
Joined Jan 2004
1,734 Posts
Andy,

Is this what you're looking for?

BTW, I'm not sure what happed with your drawings but the scale was off and several of the lines didn't intersect properly.

Cheers,
Brian

p.s. I use a simple laser cut "square" to set the focus on my laser.
cpdude is offline Find More Posts by cpdude
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2014, 10:50 AM
AndyKunz's Avatar
Illinois
Joined Sep 2001
25,259 Posts
It was a quick sketch, Brian. I saw that there were non-intersections on the right side but just wanted to get the idea out, not have it perfected.

I have to install a tool to view STL, so I can't answer if this is what I'm looking for.

Andy
AndyKunz is offline Find More Posts by AndyKunz
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2014, 02:18 PM
AndyKunz's Avatar
Illinois
Joined Sep 2001
25,259 Posts
One of the guys had Solid Works on his machine and was able to open it. That's exactly what I wanted, so I asked the 3D printer guy to make me one next time he's making stuff.

Thanks! Now I need to make it 3D for myself in TurboCAD. The curse of only working in 2D drawings for 40+ years is that you don't have a problem seeing the 3D object just from the 2D drawings.

Andy
AndyKunz is offline Find More Posts by AndyKunz
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2014, 09:19 AM
Neophyte hacker
portablevcb's Avatar
Albuquerque, NM USA
Joined Sep 2003
15,933 Posts
The important part of a tool like this is to be able to see when the part touches the gauge. Mine tilts so the movement is about doubled. When I need something precise (not very often) I can arrach a 'flag' to it.

charlie
portablevcb is offline Find More Posts by portablevcb
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2014, 09:35 AM
AndyKunz's Avatar
Illinois
Joined Sep 2001
25,259 Posts
Got a photo or video of what you mean?

Andy
AndyKunz is offline Find More Posts by AndyKunz
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2014, 08:54 PM
Registered User
Denver, CO
Joined Dec 2005
6,454 Posts
With mills we use a touch off gauge. They usually have a dial gauge, or light to show when the bit contacts. I don't think a laser usually needs it that accurate. The pad is often spring loaded incase you jog to far. One of these could be printed to size, and add an indicator.
Roto Rob is online now Find More Posts by Roto Rob
Last edited by Roto Rob; Nov 27, 2014 at 08:59 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2014, 09:01 PM
Neophyte hacker
portablevcb's Avatar
Albuquerque, NM USA
Joined Sep 2003
15,933 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyKunz View Post
Got a photo or video of what you mean?

Andy
\

I'll take a picture if I can find the darn thing I only use it about once a year.

charlie
portablevcb is offline Find More Posts by portablevcb
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2014, 09:11 PM
Neophyte hacker
portablevcb's Avatar
Albuquerque, NM USA
Joined Sep 2003
15,933 Posts
Here is a pic. Held on by magnets. I tape one end so it tilts as it meets the target. For more sensitivity a piece of wire attached adds some leverage.

charlie
portablevcb is offline Find More Posts by portablevcb
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2014, 09:45 PM
AndyKunz's Avatar
Illinois
Joined Sep 2001
25,259 Posts
Thanks. I think I'll stick with what I got, at least until I try it.

This has to be the coolest tool. I just haven't figured out what my first real project for it will be.

What software do you use for running the laser?

Andy
AndyKunz is offline Find More Posts by AndyKunz
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2014, 08:43 PM
Neophyte hacker
portablevcb's Avatar
Albuquerque, NM USA
Joined Sep 2003
15,933 Posts
corel or cad
the advantage of an established mfg is that they provide a std interface. industrial one use g code, smaller ones are configured as a printer.
portablevcb is offline Find More Posts by portablevcb
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2014, 10:28 PM
AndyKunz's Avatar
Illinois
Joined Sep 2001
25,259 Posts
Yeah, I knew that going in, and the software that runs it is pretty good and getting better. I only use it for the printing; my real work I do in TurboCAD.

I think I've found some good ways to improve my cut files.

Andy
AndyKunz is offline Find More Posts by AndyKunz
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2014, 11:39 AM
Neophyte hacker
portablevcb's Avatar
Albuquerque, NM USA
Joined Sep 2003
15,933 Posts
So does the supplied software require gcode to cut from or will it take other types of files?
portablevcb is offline Find More Posts by portablevcb
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2014, 12:37 PM
AndyKunz's Avatar
Illinois
Joined Sep 2001
25,259 Posts
It supports these:

AI, DXF, PLT, DST, DSB, BMP, GIF, JPG, PNG, MNG, ICO CUR, TIF, TGA, PCX, JBG, JP2, JPC, PGX, RAS, PNM, SKA, RAW

So far I've only played with DXF and TIFF files.

Andy
AndyKunz is offline Find More Posts by AndyKunz
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 01, 2014, 10:51 AM
Neophyte hacker
portablevcb's Avatar
Albuquerque, NM USA
Joined Sep 2003
15,933 Posts
OK, so any drawing software is compatible.
portablevcb is offline Find More Posts by portablevcb
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion What's your favourite focal length for aerial cinematography? BillReiss Multirotor Talk 0 Jul 27, 2014 07:24 AM
Question Downward facing camera stabilisation, and Nex 5 focal lengths geekness Aerial Photography 8 Sep 24, 2013 01:52 PM
How Many Pixels & What Focal Length for AP ChrisE Aerial Photography 3 Jun 09, 2004 01:15 PM