HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jul 07, 2013, 06:25 PM
United States, TX, Plano
Joined Jun 2013
360 Posts
Question
How does an EDF compare to a Stryker F27Q?

Hi guys! I love the sound of those EDFs I think they are the coolest thing. Anyway, I have read a little about the characteristics and all that and was wondering how difficult a Dynam Thunderbolt A-10 with double 64mm EDF would be to fly compared to a Stryker.

I'm a newbie but advancing really fast. After a first crash on my first attempt to fly the Stryker (and my 4rd RC flight ever) I managed to do 3 perfect flights today and good landings with 9-10mph winds so I'm very curious and really want to start thinking about the possibility to get a Thunderbolt.

I chose the Thunderbolt because looks cool and from what I read is a very "easy" EDF because of the wing.

Thoughts?

Cheers!!
flyingtxnewb is offline Find More Posts by flyingtxnewb
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 08, 2013, 01:49 AM
United States, CA, Fremont
Joined Jul 2011
801 Posts
If you asked this question, you aren't "advancing" all that fast.

The Stryker is going to be more forgiving when you hit the ground to hard, and it's going to be cheaper to repair.

You have to land the A-10 with speed, where as the Stryker can just be dropped.

A-10s are not good first EDFs, they're not horrible, but there are others. They're a warbird so they are meant to fly like one. Many of the same rules for prop warbirds apply to EDF warbirds. In my experience the A-10 is like a Corsair, some people have no issues flying it, but there is a LARGE group of people who just don't know how to recover the plane and just crash.
MaydayMayday is offline Find More Posts by MaydayMayday
Old Jul 08, 2013, 04:43 AM
United States, FL, Altamonte Springs
Joined Jun 2012
1,572 Posts