HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Aug 16, 2014, 08:13 AM
---o-O-o---
blutoh's Avatar
United States, NJ, Livingston
Joined Mar 2012
1,603 Posts
@Danny,
Did you add user 'pi' to the sudo group? That should eliminate the need for running as root. I assume pulling one pin high activates the sound for the # of loops specified in the ".ini" file, correct?

@joehateslinux,
please upload source of the DSM Routines so I can take a look at it and see what we can do.

blutoh
blutoh is offline Find More Posts by blutoh
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 16, 2014, 01:31 PM
Registered User
Dutchraptor's Avatar
The Netherlands, ZH, Hoogvliet
Joined Jul 2008
302 Posts
It uses all of the gpio pins that aren't for power. 14 sfx + crew + ambient and the kill switch. I've installed it on a raspi with vnc, that way I hook the boat up to the network and I can change all values and sounds. The version Iast posted didn't work when starting automatically. I had the paths to the sounds not correctly set yet. I'll post a newer version with the paths corrected. The sounds start when the pin is connected to ground. Released the internal pull-up takes over and send the quit command. In the B+ version I added a few command numbers and pins to the .ini. You can still use the ini file to set the number of times (or continous) a sfx sounds.

After setting the paths I only had to use your autostart script (after changing the file name off course) and the chmod command-thingy and it worked.

Danny
Dutchraptor is offline Find More Posts by Dutchraptor
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 16, 2014, 02:54 PM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2014
18 Posts
DSM2 Stuff

hi blutoh. everything is in here and works fine . i will soon have a try if it interrupts camera recording. regards JoE
joehateslinux is offline Find More Posts by joehateslinux
Last edited by joehateslinux; Aug 20, 2014 at 11:28 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2014, 01:45 PM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2014
14 Posts
does the raspberry case make it waterproof when using on the water & in rain?
SE18 is offline Find More Posts by SE18
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2014, 04:23 PM
---o-O-o---
blutoh's Avatar
United States, NJ, Livingston
Joined Mar 2012
1,603 Posts
I haven't seen a waterproof case yet, but that doesn't mean they don't exist. There are a lot connections on the pi (GPIO, USB, power, sound, hdmi, etc.) that make it difficult. Try some google searches to see what you can find. I use a regular case and mount it up high in the hull. The case is clear, so I can look into it to check things. When I get it home I open the case to let any moisture evaporate. I haven't had any problems yet.
blutoh is offline Find More Posts by blutoh
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2014, 08:19 PM
ISCOLD
Joined Mar 2014
16 Posts
Blutoh,

Sorry, but like our colleague I must give up. I am a mechanical engineer, I love electronic, but I hate programing.
Until page 30 and 31 I could understand a little, but, now the following I can not understand nothing. For me, the actual discussion appear like Japanese language,or .... better Hebraic. Hehehehehe
I try to study RASPBERRY program, but for me the target appear to stay on the moon and I am on the earth.
So, my question is: Is it possible I send for you my devices (RASP, Arduino, RC receiver, BEC,etc) in the box, and you give me back the assembled system with a standard sounds?
As I said on the beginning I will very happy to have my tug boat with sound.
Sorry to very extended message.

Best Regards

Iscold
Iscold is offline Find More Posts by Iscold
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2014, 04:15 PM
---o-O-o---
blutoh's Avatar
United States, NJ, Livingston
Joined Mar 2012
1,603 Posts
Is cold,

What problems are you having? Did you do the install as outlined in the instructions, that would give you the stock sounds? Shipoing all that hardware back and forth is expensive and risky, let's see if we can't fix it thru posting here.

Blutoh
blutoh is offline Find More Posts by blutoh
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools