Model
Name: Bird of Time ARF
Mfg: Great Planes-Dynaflite
Span: 118"
Controls: Rudder, Elevator
All Up Weight: 67.5 ounces
Price: $169.99 online
Battery: 1500mah 5-cell nimh
Receiver: Airtronics RX700 (fhss-1, 2.4 GHz)
Elevator servo: Hitec hs-65HB
Rudder servo: Hitec hs-325HB
Transmitter: Airtronics SD-10G
Hi-Start used: 100 feet of NSP Pinnacle Standard Hi-Start Tubing and 250 feet of mono-filament. This rubber is intended for 2M-3M gliders.

Pilot/Reviewer
Skill: Novice-Intermediate. The weekend warrior who is slightly past beginner level, but not yet flying contests.
Although I've been flying RC Gliders since 1986, it was only on and off, and I just barely learned to thermal before putting it aside completely in 1998. I picked it up again in 2010, and have been hooked ever since. This year, I feel like I've finally graduated beyond the weekly cycle of fly - crash - fix - fly, and can usually find a thermal or two. And just so you know, I was not paid by Great Planes, and I bought this model and equipment with my own funds. The statements here are purely my opinion and done for the fun of it and in the hope that it helps anyone considering the purchase of this model.

Background
I wanted to have an open-class RE or RES sailplane for hi-start and winch launching. Even though I had an RES model on the building board, the build was taking me longer than expected because of my lack of available building time, and I didn't see my time freeing up for a while. I was also committed to keeping the budget low to save for some other higher priority toys. It looked like the BOT ARF fit the bill: open-class span and performance, with generous wing area and an airfoil that was designed to be more slippery with plenty of Phillips entry.

Flight Report