SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Aug 11, 2014, 04:11 AM
United States, NC, Gastonia
Joined Mar 2009
4 Posts
Discussion
Champion Stampe SV4 conversion

Hi guy's,

Need a little advice on a electric conversion.
I have a Champion Stampe SV4 specs are. 56" Bi-Plane, 1003 Sq. in, Approx. 7lbs
kit calls for a .45-.60 2 stroke.
I'm considering a E-Flite Power 52 (590 kv) or a Rim Fire .55 (480) both on 5-6 cells. ESC maybe 80 amp. Props some where in the 14x8 to 15x8 range.
I'm not looking for 3D performance but would like good aerobatic performance.

Any suggestions as I'm fairly new to this electric setup stuff but been modeling for about 35 years.

Thanks, Bryan
rcav8er is offline Find More Posts by rcav8er
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 11, 2014, 06:06 AM
Australia, ACT, Kambah
Joined Feb 2001
3,158 Posts
There's not a lot of detail, but this RCU thread says it was very tail heavy with a '60 electric motor'.

if that's the case then I'd suggest that the motors you proposed are too light, especially the Rimfire .55. You'll likely want at least 800W input power - it's a lot of wing area, but also a lot of drag. While the Power 52 could readily cope with that power, a substantially larger motor could give you both weight where it makes the absolute best contribution to balance and cooler more efficient operation, which will give you longer flight times. And if you find you want a fair bit more than 800W, a bigger motor has more headroom for either a bigger prop or higher voltage

The Eflite Power 90 (450g) on 6S will deliver about the same thrust on 6S with a 15x12 as the Power 52 (350g) on 4S with a 15 x 10. In between, the Power 60 (380g) has two Kvs (400 and 470) that work well respectively with 6S or 5S and 14/15" props.