HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 20, 2010, 02:20 PM
Warbird E-Pilot / Hack Builder
Peoria, Arizona
Joined Feb 2009
366 Posts
Discussion
advice needed for Spektrum problem

I have been using a DX6i with AR6100 receivers for a couple of years now. I have 48" wingspan and under foam planes. With hundreds of flights logged, I can say my radio lost contact with the plane 4 times for certain. I started using a UBEC on all planes, and the last couple of radio glitches did not cause a blinking light "brown out" indicator on the RX. The place we fly is in the city and may have a lot of RF in the area.

Just today My Parkzone T-28 lost all control at the left end of the pattern maybe a couple hundred yards out. Lucky I had a couple of hundred feet altitude. No control movement at all. It was gliding away unpowered for maybe 6 - 8 seconds. I moved the throttle stick forward and waited for it to regain contact. It dropped out of sight behind a wall, then a second later the radio must have regained contact because the plane was full throttle climbing up, so I was able to fly it back and land. Using a UBEC. RX light solid. No shadowing, nothing but foam between me and the RX.

I am getting frustrated because I can't trust my radio.

I have read where DSM2 can pick two channels too close together and they both get hit.

I have two options I am considering; Replace all my AR6100 with AR6200 (which still uses DSM2 which may not be good) or get a new Futaba 2.4ghz radio and some of the new 4 channel receivers. I would appreciate your opinion on which way to go.
Larry076 is offline Find More Posts by Larry076
Last edited by Larry076; Mar 20, 2010 at 04:38 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 20, 2010, 07:53 PM
Air, Ground & Water
Canada, ON, Rockland
Joined Aug 2008
24,355 Posts
Radio glitches wil not cause the led to blink as this feature is to indicate lost of RX power.

AR6100 would be more prone to shadowing then the AR6200 with its sat RX.