HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 21, 2013, 07:24 PM
United States, UT, Farmington
Joined Aug 2011
1,357 Posts
Discussion
About to build a Topflite Stinson...and never painted a plane before

I am realizing that I will not be happy unless this bird gets a total paint job.

I want to use Solartex. I can't find a for sure match to the colors I am planning (the stock scheme...I know...it's a bit boring and played but I like it)...so I think the only answer is to paint.

In my research I have found that Nelson Hobbies makes a great paint and that's what I'm planning to use...it's worth the cash for me I guess.

The problem is, I've never painted with a gun. I have no experience, no equipment (save a compressor...that may or may not be adequate) and no confidence.

I don't want to spend a fortune on a paint setup that may or may not get used again for a long time. I found a decent gun on the Stits site, and there is always harborfreight, but if I have to upgrade the compressor it's going to be a no-go (no space in the garage for a bigger compressor...my current 8 gallon sits under the work bench and allows my car to park in the garage).

So the moral of the story is:

I know there are a few of you with experience in this subject. What do I need to successfully paint this plane? Can I use the compressor I have (5 CFM @ 90 psi, 8 gallon tank)? Is this something a total noob like me can do? I can cover really well, and am confident with that, but I've never used solartex.

In addition, I'm an A&P, am familiar with the poly fiber process, and I do not want to go that route. I like the the ease of iron-on covering.

Any advice, encouragement, etc. If there is a canned paint that matches solartex well, I'm all ears as well.
sirzeppu is online now Find More Posts by sirzeppu
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 21, 2013, 08:23 PM
United States, NC, Faison
Joined Jan 2011
683 Posts
Go for it....