HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 05, 2012, 03:17 PM
Fly now crash later
davecrash's Avatar
Canada, ON, Newmarket
Joined Nov 2006
2,228 Posts
I ordered the D8R XP
davecrash is offline Find More Posts by davecrash
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 05, 2012, 03:48 PM
Registered User
rcroadtrain's Avatar
Australia, NSW, Marsfield
Joined Feb 2012
354 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by u2builder View Post
+1

I feel real happy that there is an inexpensive way to
get RSSI. My DAC is ordered and on the way. I already have the DR8-ii plus waiting.
inexpensive? the dac is about the same price as the receiver.

hmm.. I need channel 8.

there has to be a better way of doing this... RSSI is already inside the receiver, it sends the info back to the display on the tx via telemetry.

if you dont need #8, thats great. but I want to use #8.
rcroadtrain is offline Find More Posts by rcroadtrain
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 05, 2012, 03:52 PM
Registered User
u2builder's Avatar
USA, NH, Alstead
Joined Oct 2007
4,930 Posts
Hopefully in the future FrSky will produce a receiver that outputs RSSI in a form that is directly useable by an OSD. In the meantime, the DAC module seems to be the only option available unless one has the skills to modify an existing RX, which I can't do.
u2builder is offline Find More Posts by u2builder
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 05, 2012, 03:55 PM
Registered User
rcroadtrain's Avatar
Australia, NSW, Marsfield
Joined Feb 2012
354 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by davecrash View Post
I ordered the D8R XP
hmm.. d8r-xp...
from frsky's site:
2) RSSI (PWM) and CPPM output - If CH3 and CH4 are connected by a jumper, CH1 will output CPPM for CH1~CH8, and CH2 will output RSSI (PWM);

the Naza can take s-bus.. is that the same as cppm?
rcroadtrain is offline Find More Posts by rcroadtrain
Last edited by rcroadtrain; Dec 05, 2012 at 04:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2012, 01:44 AM
Registered User
Romania, Dolj, Craiova
Joined Sep 2007
14,013 Posts
not the same, but naza can take also cppm aka ppmsum
renatoa is online now Find More Posts by renatoa
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2012, 02:47 AM
Registered User
rcroadtrain's Avatar
Australia, NSW, Marsfield
Joined Feb 2012
354 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RENATOA View Post
not the same, but naza can take also cppm aka ppmsum
Thanks Renatoa!
ah, but Naza uses the first 7ch, ..After the flash with the update, I'll still lose ch8....

I'm with u2builder: a no-nonsense 2 pin connector with 0-5V representing RSSI, as standard equipment, on every receiver... I'd pay extra.

ahh... thats a difficult wish, even for Santa!!

only way around this that I can think of is to run two receivers..
rcroadtrain is offline Find More Posts by rcroadtrain
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2012, 08:34 AM
Flying like an Angel.
BlueAngel2000's Avatar
Austria
Joined Sep 2007
1,488 Posts
didn't read that here, but something special happened:


did flash my D4R-II with the 27ms firmware => everything works like before (without strange problems on cppm)

than i did flash a D8R-II from beta D8R-XP firmware to the new D8R-XP 27ms firmware:
finally RSSI does work on channel 2.

will flash older D8Rs now too and see what happens.

edit:
okay flashed successfully ten receivers:
4x D8R I (more than 2 years old, hehe)
2x D8R II
1x D8R II Plus
3x D4R II


On all receivers i have now CPPM (ch1) and RSSI (ch2) when i connect channel 3 and 4 together.
really great.
BlueAngel2000 is offline Find More Posts by BlueAngel2000
Last edited by BlueAngel2000; Dec 06, 2012 at 09:42 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2012, 09:05 AM
SemperFi!
BriGuy82's Avatar
United States, TX, Texarkana
Joined May 2012
331 Posts
Hey everyone,
So I installed my antenna extensions on my D8R-II Plus.. My question is, what is the general rule of the thumb on placement and routing of these extensions? They are long, and Im probably going to have to run them down the tail, not long enough to make a bunny ear setup on my elevator though.

Will power leads effect my receiver strength? What about fixing them to the fuselage, im understanding that they should avoid CF rods? So what could I use to make a small bunny ear on the side of the fuselage?

Any help appreciated!
Thanks again,
Brian
BriGuy82 is offline Find More Posts by BriGuy82
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2012, 09:15 AM
I don't want to "Switch Now"
pmackenzie's Avatar
Toronto (Don Mills), Canada
Joined Dec 2002
15,852 Posts
Bunny ears
pmackenzie is online now Find More Posts by pmackenzie
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2012, 09:35 AM
SemperFi!
BriGuy82's Avatar
United States, TX, Texarkana
Joined May 2012
331 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmackenzie View Post
Bunny ears
Bunny ears is a "V" style at you elevator for receiver antennas. Some guys use this method with UHF receivers, giving them the best receiver strength. They usually use plastic tubes on either side of the elevator to to mount the antenna to.
http://static.rcgroups.net/forums/at...1-DCP02616.jpg
BriGuy82 is offline Find More Posts by BriGuy82
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2012, 09:52 AM
I don't want to "Switch Now"
pmackenzie's Avatar
Toronto (Don Mills), Canada
Joined Dec 2002
15,852 Posts
I see

I don't think it matters how the coax part is run, only that the ends are clear of anything that could block the signal.

There is a bit more going on in that image, looks like a ground wire running under the fuse to the other side??
pmackenzie is online now Find More Posts by pmackenzie
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2012, 10:16 AM
Fly now crash later
davecrash's Avatar
Canada, ON, Newmarket
Joined Nov 2006
2,228 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmackenzie View Post
Bunny ears
You had to be born before the 70's to remember bunny ears,
davecrash is offline Find More Posts by davecrash
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2012, 10:19 AM
Suspended Account
United States, AZ, Tucson
Joined Mar 2012
3,265 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by davecrash View Post
You had to be born before the 70's to remember bunny ears,
We still use them in our house! someone told us to get cable but we never did cause we dont know what cable tv is.
goldsworthy is offline Find More Posts by goldsworthy
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Dec 06, 2012, 10:36 AM
I don't want to "Switch Now"
pmackenzie's Avatar
Toronto (Don Mills), Canada
Joined Dec 2002
15,852 Posts
We called them Rabbit ears, not bunny ears, so I didn't make the connection

Bunny Ears make me think of a certain magazine run by an old geezer
pmackenzie is online now Find More Posts by pmackenzie
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2012, 10:44 AM
I don't want to "Switch Now"
pmackenzie's Avatar
Toronto (Don Mills), Canada
Joined Dec 2002
15,852 Posts
Also, in this context bunny ears are an example of a dipole.
FrSky is two separate antenna.

Could be the ground wire that was in the image above was an attempt to turn them into a single antenna system, but I don't think it would work because the wire is too long for the RF signal to see it as a short circuit.
pmackenzie is online now Find More Posts by pmackenzie
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mini-Review The video for FrSky 2.4Ghz Chase Wu Radios 0 Dec 16, 2009 01:18 AM
Discussion Realflight G5 Combat so far so good! splitpilot Simulators 0 Nov 22, 2009 06:36 AM
Discussion So far... So good rikks Mini Helis 35 Feb 17, 2006 12:42 PM
Aerofly Deluxe so far so good! Gary Morris Simulators 5 Aug 19, 2005 07:23 AM
Schulze 18.46K v7.02 - so far, so good! Jason M Electric Heli Talk 4 Aug 11, 2002 01:25 AM