Old Apr 21, 2012, 08:52 PM
MSgt, USAF Ret.
USA, WA, Spokane
Joined Nov 2003
1,258 Posts
Alert
Hobbico Volt Watch 2 shorting issues

Hello All!

I'm not sure if this is the best place for this but since I'm a glider pilot I figured this is a good start.

I've been using the Volt Watch 2 on-board battery monitors for years without any issues. Last year a friend of mine said he lost power to his glider due to a volt watch shorting out and draining his RX battery. I decided to check the 6 I had in use and I found 3 of them that had the potential to short if the wires were moved or bumped in the right, or wrong position depending on how you look at it. I removed the clear shrink wrap and ID plate and then de-soldered the leads. To prevent a possible short I added liquid tape after installing a new set of leads. I also checked the voltage needed to light each LED and added a label to identify the voltage at each one. See photos.

Anyway, I wanted to get the word out to anyone using these monitors and ask that you check yours before this $12 item destroys your $2000 plane.

Happy flying!

Jim
Jim Frahm is online now Find More Posts by Jim Frahm
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 21, 2012, 09:04 PM
Flightcomp.com
United States, CA, Torrance
Joined Apr 2006
1,689 Posts
Strong work Jim!
ak79 is offline Find More Posts by ak79
Site Sponsor
Old Apr 21, 2012, 10:48 PM
Thanks CB, WD x2, T, DC
United States, OR, Silverton
Joined Nov 2008
930 Posts
Sano
seaspb is online now Find More Posts by seaspb
Last edited by seaspb; Apr 21, 2012 at 10:53 PM.
Old Apr 21, 2012, 11:19 PM
Sink Stinks
Orange County, CA
Joined Aug 2004
4,345 Posts
I never use things like for this exact reason. One more thing to fail. Especially since it is not required for flight in the first place.
Silent-AV8R is online now Find More Posts by Silent-AV8R
Old Apr 21, 2012, 11:45 PM
Win=span\massXpractice+lu ck
Joined Jul 2007
3,073 Posts