New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Aug 17, 2015, 06:34 AM
FlyingPancake is offline
Find More Posts by FlyingPancake
Registered User
Joined Jul 2013
333 Posts
Discussion
GIve me smart ideas for easiest way to push mechanic button remotely?

I need minimalistic and simple setup to press mechanic button remotely (few meters away)

What i've figured so far is to use one of those remote electric circuit switches
http://www.dx.com/p/4-channel-wirele...85-260v-128683
to power up a servo that presses the button.

But how to give the servo the necessary signal without complicating the setup too much? (radio tx, and rx, binding and so on..)


any ideas are welcome, it just needs to be simple
FlyingPancake is offline Find More Posts by FlyingPancake
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 17, 2015, 07:32 AM
wolfiniron is offline
Find More Posts by wolfiniron
Registered User
Joined Apr 2015
43 Posts
Here's one similar to the one you linked to but it's run on 12volt.
http://www.allelectronics.com/make-a...control/1.html
And another that triggers from a key chain transmitter.
http://www.allelectronics.com/make-a...-15-amp/1.html
Also check surplus electronics stores. I've found some interesting things there at a way reduced price.
wolfiniron is offline Find More Posts by wolfiniron
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2015, 08:55 AM
phil_g is offline
Find More Posts by phil_g
Who let the dogs out?
phil_g's Avatar
Pontefract, Yorkshire, UK
Joined Jul 2007
1,265 Posts
Instead of having a servo physically press the button, can you get to the wiring to connect a relay contact in parallel with the button?
phil_g is offline Find More Posts by phil_g
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2015, 04:59 PM
jakestew is offline
Find More Posts by jakestew
Registered User
United States, ID
Joined Sep 2011
1,223 Posts
What the hell is a "mechanic button"?

If you mean "mechanical button" you still need to clarify. There are many types.
jakestew is offline Find More Posts by jakestew
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2015, 05:09 PM
phil_g is offline
Find More Posts by phil_g
Who let the dogs out?
phil_g's Avatar
Pontefract, Yorkshire, UK
Joined Jul 2007
1,265 Posts
I'm out
phil_g is offline Find More Posts by phil_g
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2015, 05:16 PM
jakestew is offline
Find More Posts by jakestew
Registered User
United States, ID
Joined Sep 2011
1,223 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by phil_g View Post
I'm out
Out of "mechanic buttons"?
jakestew is offline Find More Posts by jakestew
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2015, 04:26 PM
FlyingPancake is offline
Find More Posts by FlyingPancake
Registered User
Joined Jul 2013
333 Posts
yeah it's a mechanicAL button that has to be physically pressed. There is no electric circuit there.

dx has 12v version of the remote switch i've linked. But the main problem is how to give the servo a signal to move without setting up rx and tx?
FlyingPancake is offline Find More Posts by FlyingPancake
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2015, 11:06 AM
Plantoflap is online now
Find More Posts by Plantoflap
Registered User
Joined Sep 2003
389 Posts
Servo tester.
Plantoflap is online now Find More Posts by Plantoflap
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2015, 11:18 AM
Ernst38 is online now
Find More Posts by Ernst38
Registered User
Joined Jan 2007
11 Posts
Open the servo and connect directly to the motor
Ernst38 is online now Find More Posts by Ernst38
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2015, 03:38 AM
FlyingPancake is offline
Find More Posts by FlyingPancake
Registered User
Joined Jul 2013
333 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Plantoflap View Post
Servo tester.


that might actually be just perfect!
FlyingPancake is offline Find More Posts by FlyingPancake
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2015, 03:40 AM
FlyingPancake is offline
Find More Posts by FlyingPancake
Registered User
Joined Jul 2013
333 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ernst38 View Post
Open the servo and connect directly to the motor
in that case what would happen when just powered?
I need it to do the full motion every time it's powered.
Like press the button and then return back. Actually 90 degrees motion will be fine.
Is there a way to make it do that without supplying signal to the signal wire?
FlyingPancake is offline Find More Posts by FlyingPancake
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2015, 05:39 AM
Ernst38 is online now
Find More Posts by Ernst38
Registered User
Joined Jan 2007
11 Posts
Quote:
I need it to do the full motion every time it's powered.
In that case I would use an Arduino solution, either a pro mini or ATtiny85, but I guess there are readymade solutions out there,
Ernst38 is online now Find More Posts by Ernst38
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2015, 11:14 AM
FlyingPancake is offline
Find More Posts by FlyingPancake
Registered User
Joined Jul 2013
333 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ernst38 View Post
In that case I would use an Arduino solution, either a pro mini or ATtiny85, but I guess there are readymade solutions out there,
That would be an overkill for my needs.

Can't those servo testers with 3 modes (auto, manual and one more i forgot) do that upon powering them up?
FlyingPancake is offline Find More Posts by FlyingPancake
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2015, 03:13 PM
Ole Joe is online now
Find More Posts by Ole Joe
Registered User
Joined Oct 2007
93 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by FlyingPancake View Post
Can't those servo testers with 3 modes (auto, manual and one more i forgot) do that upon powering them up?
I have one like that shown at this link;

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...vo_Tester.html

It does have three modes of operation, manual, neutral and auto. Mine always defaults to the manual position upon power up and moves the servo according to the last position that the pot (adjust) was left in.
Ole Joe is online now Find More Posts by Ole Joe
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 25, 2015, 03:10 AM
FlyingPancake is offline
Find More Posts by FlyingPancake
Registered User
Joined Jul 2013
333 Posts
ah thanks for telling me that because i was about to order it
and it will not work that way for my needs


is there a servo tester that just goes back and forth upon powering up?
FlyingPancake is offline Find More Posts by FlyingPancake
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold FPV pod all-in-one 200mw 32ch (push button) Tx and camera. bluemeane FPV Equipment (FS/W) 6 Aug 14, 2015 09:02 PM
Discussion Can anyone give me ideas about my motor? tipup Electric Plane Talk 3 Dec 03, 2013 12:39 PM
Discussion Server as remote push button emailbvd Radios 0 Oct 30, 2012 12:22 PM
Discussion Best/easiest way to remote trigger NEX5N? aForcefulThrust Multirotor Electronics 2 Jul 18, 2012 07:54 PM
Wanted 12v push button remote starter nitro22 Non R/C Items (FS/W) 3 Aug 29, 2010 11:29 AM