HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Apr 14, 2011, 07:52 PM
Joined Aug 2010
164 Posts
Help!
New to gas, ? test DLE 30 ignition?

Hi all, I have converted my 1st plane to gas, a 78" with new dle 30cc. I am new to fuel engines so my experience with any power plant that is not electric is VERY limited. Anyway, my problem is the dle won't start. I have 2 batts, one for ignition other for rx. I have a connected opto kill switch that I installed that has an LED to tell when it's armed. I have to on/off switches, one for rx other for opto kill. I turned on rx, armed kill switch, choke on and tried to start and would not even fire, even after 100 flips! I am wondering if there is a way to check to see if I am getting a spark without damaging the ignition.

Fuel is getting to the carb, I can see it.

Any suggestions? My friend is going to bring and extra DLE ignition on Saturday but I wanted to see if I could try anything first.

JB
JBAZ4 is offline Find More Posts by JBAZ4
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 14, 2011, 09:10 PM
Why kamikaze pilot wear helmet
United States, OH, Columbus
Joined Jul 2010
1,096 Posts
Well I will try to help, I just got my New DLE 30cc 2 day ago. LOL

Anyways to see if you have spark, all you need to do is take out the spark plug, Keep it connected to the wire, and hold the base of the plug on the head of the motor, (that way it you are grounding the base of the plug.

Turn it all on, and flip her over you will she a small arc on the plug.

If this scares you, you can go to autozone and they have a inlike spark checker, it dose the same thing but you don't have to hold it.

2nd, I freand of my got his 3 weeks ago and said the stock plug is junk, I don't have my Iphone with me, but there is a NGK plug that is supposed to be better, maybe you can google it.

3rd, I have read if you put more than 6v to the control unit that you will fry it, so I hope your control/spark power supply is a 4cell nicad pack