SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old May 19, 2015, 01:39 PM
Find More Posts by Tehachapi Jim
United States, CA, Tehachapi
Joined Jul 2004
1,804 Posts
Question
Sport tube

Guys, if I were to purchase a sport tube for my F3B/F gliders, what size or model #should I consider? I was thinking enough room for two sailplanes.

Iam asking the best way to ship my gliders when flying somewhere.

I have no experience with this and any ideas are welcome, including checking transmitter as baggage etc.

Thanks,

Jim
Tehachapi Jim is offline Find More Posts by Tehachapi Jim
to remove ads between posts
Old May 19, 2015, 03:43 PM
G_T
Find More Posts by G_T
G_T
Joined Apr 2009
6,430 Posts
IMHO, nowdays, skip the sportstube. Build a very sturdy box. Package the planes well, no free motion, nothing touching sides top or bottom or ends. Ship by some carrier to a friend or your destination hotel. Don't check through the airlines!

0.02c

Gerald
G_T is online now Find More Posts by G_T
Old May 19, 2015, 04:15 PM
Find More Posts by Shedofdread
Deniable plausibility
Derbyshire, UK
Joined Aug 2008
2,356 Posts
Obviously, it depends on the size of the aeroplane but I've used a long 'Peli' case on many occasions to transport aeroplanes (as checked, over-size baggage). Be wary of excess baggage charges as many airlines don't recognise aeroplanes as 'sporting equipment'...

I've had my TX in my carry-on quite happily (they will want to see it powered up and may want the back off) and also had it (well padded) in with the aeroplanes.

The beauty of Peli cases is that you could drive a truck over them and KNOW the contents are OK

Best of luck!
Shedofdread is offline Find More Posts by Shedofdread
Old May 19, 2015, 04:35 PM
Find More Posts by Kiesling
San Diego
Joined Aug 2004
2,538 Posts
For the sport tube you want the sport tube III.