New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Nov 06, 2014, 06:00 AM
IceManPro is offline
Find More Posts by IceManPro
Manufacturer
IceManPro's Avatar
Joined Sep 2012
303 Posts
The servos look to be digital so the PWM setting should be fine at 10ms. As a test you can try to change this to 15 to see if it makes any difference. Can you also separate the gyro from the aircraft to check if vibration is a factor? Are you mounting the gyro on some sort of foam anti-vibration mounting?
IceManPro is offline Find More Posts by IceManPro
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 06, 2014, 11:59 PM
jacojet is offline
Find More Posts by jacojet
Registered User
jacojet's Avatar
South Africa, Free State, Sasolburg
Joined May 2010
205 Posts
I have changed the settings without any improvement, I also isolated the gyro by removing it from the aircraft and just holding it by hand. It is a turbine aircraft, so vibration is minimal. I also noticed that the surfaces would twitch every 20 sec or so even with the gyro off. I am using a powerbox evolution, so the the gyro is between the rx and the inputs of the powerbox. I am using 2 6.6v life batt connected to the powerbox. BTW the gyro is mounted on two sided foam tape about a millimeter thick.
jacojet is offline Find More Posts by jacojet
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 07, 2014, 10:49 AM
IceManPro is offline
Find More Posts by IceManPro
Manufacturer
IceManPro's Avatar
Joined Sep 2012
303 Posts
ok, so the gyro is getting 6.6v input right? Some amount of twitching is normal. You can also increase the level of averaging if you like - from the prof 2 tab page (centre) but this will slow down the speed at which the gyro can react to changes needed.
IceManPro is offline Find More Posts by IceManPro
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2014, 12:52 PM
jacojet is offline
Find More Posts by jacojet
Registered User
jacojet's Avatar
South Africa, Free State, Sasolburg
Joined May 2010
205 Posts
Hi, sorry for being absent for a while! The power is regulated at 5.8 volts. I am afraid the amount of twitching is quite a lot and will surely cause the aircraft to move in the most unexpected manner! I will not risk the jet by flying it under these conditions. I have replaced the ice-man with a eagle tree guardian for now, but will be trying the ice-man in a less expensive aircraft first. If I should re-mount the ice-man in this jet and it behaves the same, I will make some video and show you what it looks like. Maybe then you will be more able to make suggestions. Thanks for the advice and support so far!
jacojet is offline Find More Posts by jacojet
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2014, 03:15 AM
IceManPro is offline
Find More Posts by IceManPro
Manufacturer
IceManPro's Avatar
Joined Sep 2012
303 Posts
Does the deflection issue occur on all servos? If on all, at the same time? Can you see if the jittering happens at 5v? And do you have the most up to date f/w installed?
IceManPro is offline Find More Posts by IceManPro
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2014, 01:52 PM
jacojet is offline
Find More Posts by jacojet
Registered User
jacojet's Avatar
South Africa, Free State, Sasolburg
Joined May 2010
205 Posts
Hi Ice-man, the deflection occur on the servos connected to the gyro, and at the same time, the flaps and retract servo does not move. It is very weird that the deflection only occurs when the turbine is running? There is some twitching every 20 or so seconds when the turbine is not running, but with it running the servos goes crazy! The voltage is regulated at 5.8 volts, not sure if I can change it.
jacojet is offline Find More Posts by jacojet
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2015, 12:08 PM
Go4it is online now
Find More Posts by Go4it
Registered User
Go4it's Avatar
United States, FL
Joined Mar 2004
1,204 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacojet View Post
Hi Ice-man, the deflection occur on the servos connected to the gyro, and at the same time, the flaps and retract servo does not move. It is very weird that the deflection only occurs when the turbine is running? There is some twitching every 20 or so seconds when the turbine is not running, but with it running the servos goes crazy! The voltage is regulated at 5.8 volts, not sure if I can change it.
So I have following this thread. What happen with the servos problem with the voltage. LAst posted Nov 2014 and now it is Feb 2015. What happen to the problem??
Does the ICEMAN gyro not work and was replaced by another gyro system or is the problem fixed.
Go4it is online now Find More Posts by Go4it
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 04, 2015, 05:10 AM
IceManPro is offline
Find More Posts by IceManPro
Manufacturer
IceManPro's Avatar
Joined Sep 2012
303 Posts
Ice man gyro has been working in many many applications. It is specifically suited to RC aircraft of any type, and can also control multi-copter. It has been in production a few years now and is regularly updated with new software. We have many happy customers. Many of whom are repeat buyers. If you have any issues that are not answered here please write to us directly for the fastest response via our info ID. Thanks.
IceManPro is offline Find More Posts by IceManPro
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion GPS - - Blue light off after 10 mins part141 Hoverfly Technologies 11 Aug 09, 2012 11:54 PM
Help! Optima 9 RX blue LED won't light edge_pilot Hitec/Multiplex USA 6 Jul 15, 2012 06:34 PM
Gallery Cinestar 8 Gimbal Stability Test and Canon 7D low light test with the Tokina 11-16 HeliVids Aerial Photography 0 Jun 13, 2012 07:45 AM
Discussion GPS not working (blue light only blinks once) DesertDrones FPV Talk 3 Jun 12, 2012 10:37 PM