SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Nov 25, 2012, 03:22 PM
Brownsburg, Indiana
Joined Aug 2005
1,017 Posts
Question
I need How-to help vacuforming canopies

I have a Lancaster bomber build that needs canopy and blisters vacu-formed, but I've never done it before. I have a pretty good idea of what the vac box should look like, and the hobby shop has the plastic. But from what I've read you have to carve every mold from balsa? Large pieces are getting pretty expensive. Anyone have any tips for a first timer?
Jay
flying jeep is offline Find More Posts by flying jeep
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 25, 2012, 03:33 PM
Airplane crasher
USA, CT, Shelton
Joined Jan 2008
2,732 Posts
Get in touch with Keith at Park Flyer plastics. He goes by Sparky here on RCG. He does great work and can make the molds and then pull the plastic for you. He is reasonable on his prices too. Plus it saves time from having to do all of this when you could be building
CapMike is offline Find More Posts by CapMike
Old Nov 25, 2012, 05:19 PM
The "pro" in procrastination
Canada, ON, Kingston
Joined Mar 2004
2,893 Posts
I'm in exactly the same boat, with a Lancaster needing canopies and cowlings, and never having attempted vac-forming myself. I've heard that MDF (medium density fiberboard), the stuff made of sawdust and glue, is a good material for building forms out of. It's a lot harder than balsa (and a lot cheaper, too), so some power sanding tools will probably useful, along with a bunch of hand files and rasps. When I get around to it, I'll be trying MDF for my forms.

Steve
Steve85 is offline Find More Posts by Steve85
Old Nov 25, 2012, 05:34 PM
Airplane crasher
USA, CT, Shelton
Joined Jan 2008
2,732 Posts
Steve and Jeep if your both doing the same size it might go well to split the cost to have a set of molds done by Sparky then have him pull a set for both of you
CapMike is offline Find More Posts by CapMike
Old Nov 25, 2012, 07:49 PM
Australia, WA, Kalgoorlie