HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jun 28, 2014, 02:16 AM
Åtvidaberg, Sweden
Joined Jul 2008
207 Posts
Build Log
JA 37 Viggen Dual propp

I have a long time thought about making a Viggen. The thing that made me not to is that it has a quite complicated form. But since I saw David on FlightTest make it a got it on my mind again and gave it a go. I am not a fan of ducted fans so has to be a pusher. So after fiddling with AutoCAD and so I began to cut it out. I changed things on the way since I haven't made this type of fuselage before. I also didn't want to make to much changes from the original in terms of wing placement and other stuff.

It is not finished yet and the retractable gear is a bi&"# to get right. I have never used a retract before so that's probably the rote to the problem though.

I used bluecore type of foam but it should be sufficient to use normal white foam, and it is lighter and since it supposed to be covered with fiberglass it will be strong enough. The reason I choose bluecore is that I wanted to check the strength with just that material if not covered. I would say that it is not sufficient because of the sections every 50 mm.
The wing profile is kf4 since the wing is so thin and to cut a wing from a block of foam with delta shape is not a trivial task.

I will use two 3300 kv motors and 6x4 propellers. Optimal would be if one was counter rotating but it will probably not matter much.

Will it fly? Probably but if it flies good or not is the real question...

Finally I got to add the plans for it and they are quite large since the model is large. That's why I opted for Cartesian coordinates for the wing. It is quicker to print out a small copy of the wing and measure plot out those coordinates.
Pukin_Dog is offline Find More Posts by Pukin_Dog
Last edited by Pukin_Dog; Jul 07, 2014 at 08:06 AM. Reason: Added information.
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 28, 2014, 01:28 PM
Pollock Pines, CA
Joined Aug 2002
1,615 Posts