SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 31, 2013, 02:25 AM
Registered User
noppita's Avatar
Joined Jul 2009
2,189 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hexacop View Post
I have got six RCTimer HVSK-40A and experienced a similar problem, on ESC get's stuck after few throttle changes and the motor is loosing power. Could reproduce this easily with 3 different motors. I'm using Tiger MT2814 motors.
After this experience I have decided to drop all of them and search for alternative ESC.


Hobbyking F40
40 amp esc with simonk version 09/30 firmware has no problem, you should try this.

the problem with this is out of stock so often, so i decided to try rctimer 40 amp, i am thinking to re-flash simonk version 9/30 to this rctimer. see if problem will go away
noppita is offline Find More Posts by noppita
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 31, 2013, 02:29 AM
Registered User
noppita's Avatar
Joined Jul 2009
2,189 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by airmamaf View Post
I got no problem with my 6 MT2814-11 and Blueseries ESC controlled by DJI Naza
so, more than one person experienced this same problem. I used it with naza dji, so i guess that this rctimer 40 amp has some problem, either hardware problem or firmware problem, this esc is using different version of normal simonk right? tgy_debug.hex or added bug????

so, i would like to know if i can re-flash normal simonk version 09-30 to this esc.
noppita is offline Find More Posts by noppita
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 02:31 AM
Registered User
noppita's Avatar
Joined Jul 2009
2,189 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hexacop View Post
I have got six RCTimer HVSK-40A and experienced a similar problem, on ESC get's stuck after few throttle changes and the motor is loosing power. Could reproduce this easily with 3 different motors. I'm using Tiger MT2814 motors.
After this experience I have decided to drop all of them and search for alternative ESC.


did you experienced it with 6s lipo?
noppita is offline Find More Posts by noppita
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 02:32 AM
Registered User
noppita's Avatar
Joined Jul 2009
2,189 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by airmamaf View Post
3s, this may indeed be the problem


i think that normally this problem will show up when you use with big motor and bigger lipo.
noppita is offline Find More Posts by noppita
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 02:35 AM
Registered User
noppita's Avatar
Joined Jul 2009
2,189 Posts
Simonk, please help

i think there is some issue or problem with this HVSK 40 amp from rctimer, more than one person experience the same problem. not sure if problem with hardware or software. I would to ask you for the following

1. the firmware in this esc is tgy_debug? it is different from your normal version 09-30 right?
2. can i re-flash your 09-30 version to this esc or not? i have been using version 09-30 on F40 hobbyking for many escs and without any problem.
noppita is offline Find More Posts by noppita
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 01, 2013, 12:09 AM
Master of Flash
LazyZero's Avatar
Alsdorf/Eifel, Germany
Joined Jun 2005
1,565 Posts
Creating your own LittleMo's ArduinoUSBLinker

Hi,

I worked a bit on the flashtool and now you can make your own ArduinoUSBLinker with a few clicks.

See the video to figure out how it works.
How to make your own ArduinoUSBLinker (0 min 35 sec)

Detailed Instructions on http://lazyzero.de/en/modellbau/kkmu...duinousblinker
More Arduino's will be added the next days.

Best Christian
LazyZero is offline Find More Posts by LazyZero
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 01, 2013, 08:54 AM
Registered User
noppita's Avatar
Joined Jul 2009
2,189 Posts
Simonk, please help

i think there is some issue or problem with this HVSK 40 amp from rctimer, more than one person experience the same problem. not sure if problem with hardware or software. I would to ask you for the following

1. the firmware in this esc is tgy_debug? it is different from your normal version 09-30 right?
2. can i re-flash your 09-30 version to this esc or not? i have been using version 09-30 on F40 hobbyking for many escs and without any problem.
3. which file in version 09-30 should i use for this rctimer red 40 amp?
noppita is offline Find More Posts by noppita
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 01, 2013, 01:13 PM
Master of Flash
LazyZero's Avatar
Alsdorf/Eifel, Germany
Joined Jun 2005
1,565 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by LazyZero View Post
Hi,

I worked a bit on the flashtool and now you can make your own ArduinoUSBLinker with a few clicks.

Detailed Instructions on http://lazyzero.de/en/modellbau/kkmu...duinousblinker
More Arduino's will be added the next days.

Best Christian
Okay, new version is now online. Somehow I missed to upload the version from yesterday evening. Most arduinos are added now, except mega and leonardo.

Best Christian
LazyZero is offline Find More Posts by LazyZero
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2013, 12:33 AM
If it flies, I will crash it
mxspode's Avatar
USA, CO, Westminster
Joined Jan 2008
3,022 Posts
Just had to play with the new tool a bit Christian. Loaded the code and ran a test and it worked perfectly the first time. Nice addition to an already very handy tool.

Rob...
mxspode is offline Find More Posts by mxspode
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2013, 06:35 AM
Registered User
jetbootz's Avatar
Australia, Lord Howe Island
Joined Jan 2010
957 Posts
Hi guys again...

firstly i'd like to thank the people who helped me last time I frequented this forum in November 2012 :

SimonK
Greebo
ABLomas
LAzyzero

after much thinking I ended up with a pile of perfectly working flashed ESCs ! see pics below. many flights enjoyed since then

now I have another question :

I am thinking about a big heavy lift OCTO build and am considering the HKBlueseries ESCs again, I do have some 40 AMP versions still left over from my Nov 2012 flashing session but am always thinking bigger is better ie more headroom and safer. So , if I buy this :

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...ontroller.html

or maybe I just get the 60 amp version :

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...ontroller.html

my question is do I just flash them with the 40 amp blueseries simonK FW ? Is it going to work on these ? I assume these are simply bigger version of my 40 amp ones and so it should work ???

thanks again everyone, flying multicopters with simonK FW is like night and day diffference to normal ESC
jetbootz is offline Find More Posts by jetbootz
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2013, 07:04 AM
g0t rabb1t?
ABLomas's Avatar
Lietuva, Vilnius
Joined Jul 2011
1,498 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jetbootz View Post
I am thinking about a big heavy lift OCTO build and am considering the HKBlueseries ESCs again, I do have some 40 AMP versions still left over from my Nov 2012 flashing session but am always thinking bigger is better ie more headroom and safer.
How "heavy" is your "heavy"?
40A even on 3S setup is over 400W, over 3KW octo? You will be lifting entire filming crew or what?
Check your motor recommendations before going to use those heavy ESC's.
ABLomas is online now Find More Posts by ABLomas
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2013, 07:19 AM
Registered User
jetbootz's Avatar
Australia, Lord Howe Island
Joined Jan 2010
957 Posts
ha! I know its overkill. its going to be a DW skyjib 8 V2 lifting heavy camera maybe sonyFS100. ill be using these

http://www.rctigermotor.com/show.php?contentid=144

max current 30amp . ill be using 6S 380KV 15 inch props. I just come from full size aviation background where safety factor is at least 2.5 x

therefore 70 amp seems OK! I do realise ill probably only ever pull about 15 amp each motor but ESCs are cheap and camera are not ! just thinking out loud thats all .. still, will the FW work on those big bad ESCS ?????
jetbootz is offline Find More Posts by jetbootz
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2013, 07:22 AM
Registered User
jetbootz's Avatar
Australia, Lord Howe Island
Joined Jan 2010
957 Posts
JXF 15x6 ( my prop choice ) at 85 % throttle pulls 14.3 amps.

70 amp ESC probably is too big eh ? but 40 seems a bit close only being 2 x max amp pull possible. what if I flash the 60 amp ESC version ? will FW work on the 60 amp version ??

cheers everyone great thread this one
jetbootz is offline Find More Posts by jetbootz
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2013, 07:45 AM
g0t rabb1t?
ABLomas's Avatar
Lietuva, Vilnius
Joined Jul 2011
1,498 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jetbootz View Post
max current 30amp . ill be using 6S 380KV 15 inch props. I just come from full size aviation background where safety factor is at least 2.5 x
F30A is your best choice (and if you need that 2.5x safety factor - you got it, check FET ratings).
Everything above that - only waste of resources (more weight - aditional 200g on ESC's alone, etc).
ABLomas is online now Find More Posts by ABLomas
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2013, 10:42 AM
Registered User
noppita's Avatar
Joined Jul 2009
2,189 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jetbootz View Post
ha! I know its overkill. its going to be a DW skyjib 8 V2 lifting heavy camera maybe sonyFS100. ill be using these

http://www.rctigermotor.com/show.php?contentid=144

max current 30amp . ill be using 6S 380KV 15 inch props. I just come from full size aviation background where safety factor is at least 2.5 x

therefore 70 amp seems OK! I do realise ill probably only ever pull about 15 amp each motor but ESCs are cheap and camera are not ! just thinking out loud thats all .. still, will the FW work on those big bad ESCS ?????

do you have motors for your hevey octo yet? how about low price tiger motor, mt4008, mn3510, mn4014?
noppita is offline Find More Posts by noppita
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Rctimer 30A esc cutting out with KK board Efliernz Multirotor Talk 2 May 26, 2011 02:20 PM
Sold FS: Tricopter Parts- HK401b, Pentium 30A ESC, rctimer 750kv motors pwu_1 Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 2 Jan 18, 2011 09:58 PM
Sold RCTimer 2826-6 + ESC 30A New in packaging will trade as well Pics Added! planebldr Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 4 May 25, 2010 09:54 PM
Discussion RCTimer 30A Programmable ESC hunter7193 Power Systems 8 Jan 02, 2010 02:27 PM
For Sale Several New ESC's - 10a, 20a, 30a - Reduced Callen9345 Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 0 Apr 20, 2009 02:31 PM