SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Oct 01, 2010, 11:18 AM
USA, IN, Commiskey
Joined Oct 2007
148 Posts
Discussion
What type of flyer are you

Being a new heli flyer, I was wandering what kind of flying most of us really do. When I went to Muncie Indiana for the helicopter jamboree there were a lot of world class 3D guys there. When I talked with the other people just there to see the show almost everyone said they were only into sport flying and mild acro. Yet most of us build 3D helis. I personally have no intention of flying 3D just sport and scale. Which makes me wonder if I am building the right heli for the job? What do you think? Do 3D helis make the best sport flyers? I'm not sure.
mac2286 is offline Find More Posts by mac2286
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 01, 2010, 11:38 AM
Fueled by Arabica Beans
United States, NY, Syracuse
Joined Oct 2008
3,938 Posts
I'm still a beginner heli pilot, but as a fairly experienced R/C plane pilot, I can say that it's nice to have something that is only limited by my skill. I have several 3D capable planes and sometimes while just putzing around in the sky, the urge just strikes to attempt a new aerobatic manuever. Also, with helis, they are only as aerobatic as their blades/motor/servos/gyro allow them to be. You can buy a full out 3D capable heli and install wooden blades and slow servos and a sloppy gyro in it and it will no longer be 3D capable.
ChillPhatCat is online now Find More Posts by ChillPhatCat
Old Oct 01, 2010, 11:40 AM
Rocket Programmer
United States, AZ, Mesa
Joined Jul 2007
25,388 Posts
3D helis do make good sport flyers. You have to understand what people mean by that though. When people say they only fly sport style... what it really means is "I don't have the skillz for 3D but I want to"
jasmine2501 is offline Find More Posts by jasmine2501
Old Oct 01, 2010, 12:12 PM
Cranky old fart
Germantown, WI.
Joined Oct 2007
21,466 Posts