New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 24, 2015, 02:29 PM
Find More Posts by Aaron 1
Joined Jun 2010
350 Posts
Discussion
Series Ducted fans

I'm new to ducted fans but assume placing ducted fans in series has been discussed and tried. Does any manufacturer make such an item? Save me a hassel of a DIY version. Does it work would be the next question.
Aaron 1 is offline Find More Posts by Aaron 1
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 24, 2015, 02:50 PM
Find More Posts by CoolerByTheLake
Do it Right, the first time!
United States, MN, Hermantown
Joined Dec 2008
6,844 Posts
[QUOTE=Aaron 1;31150435]I'm new to ducted fans but assume placing ducted fans in series has been discussed and triedyes it has
Does any manufacturer make such an item? NO
Save me a hassel of a DIY version. Does it work would be the next question.[/QUOTE Save your time and money., and no they don't

Set the search date to start at the beginning- and look it up. Not one ever worked.
CoolerByTheLake is offline Find More Posts by CoolerByTheLake
Old Mar 24, 2015, 02:52 PM
Find More Posts by FANtastic
Joined Sep 2010
294 Posts
I suppose you could have a larger fan followed by a smaller fan running at a higher speed to increase the exit velocity but extra weight , two motors , two fans etc etc I don't think the gains would out weigh inefficiencies . I'm sure it must have been tried but give it a go and let us have some results . What size fans are you thinking of ?
FANtastic is offline Find More Posts by FANtastic
Old Mar 24, 2015, 02:56 PM
Joined Sep 2010
294 Posts
In the automotive world some "twin turbo " cars have two turbos in series but that isn't to make more pressure ( it doesn't ) but to reduce turbo lag .
Old Mar 24, 2015, 03:06 PM
Find More Posts by nighthawk0077
Joined Oct 2009
1,632 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by FANtastic View Post