HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 16, 2013, 02:56 PM
I did it...
av8ersteve's Avatar
Morganton, NC
Joined Jun 2005
756 Posts
Discussion
My first turbine start....

Well, today was supposed to be the big day but as fate would have it, it's snowing its a** off outside. Maybe it will slack up later but it's starting to get late. Stay tuned........
av8ersteve is offline Find More Posts by av8ersteve
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 16, 2013, 04:55 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2010
2,876 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by av8ersteve View Post
Well, today was supposed to be the big day but as fate would have it, it's snowing its a** off outside. Maybe it will slack up later but it's starting to get late. Stay tuned........
Make sure while starting the snow is blowing into the compressor, good luck, J.
jofro is offline Find More Posts by jofro
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2013, 06:12 PM
Registered User
Dr Honda's Avatar
Pittsburgh Allegheny, Pennsylvania, United States
Joined May 2004
1,190 Posts
Turbines are a great way to melt the snow on the driveway. LOL !!

I feel your pain... it's the way it always works out.
Dr Honda is offline Find More Posts by Dr Honda
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 07:43 AM
Registered User
Dr Honda's Avatar
Pittsburgh Allegheny, Pennsylvania, United States
Joined May 2004
1,190 Posts
Well.... dang it... I think you sent the snow our way. There's 4" sitting out there this morning.
Dr Honda is offline Find More Posts by Dr Honda
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 04:54 PM
I did it...
av8ersteve's Avatar
Morganton, NC
Joined Jun 2005
756 Posts
Sorry about that LOL.

WELL, no go. Ecu does not read the temp. I did screw up the probe when i broke off the tip. Dang it! Carlos is sending me a new one but it want ship until Tuesday due to the holiday on Monday. Maybe next weekend guys.

Do they still make an air start turbine? I know these newer turn-key turbines are great but i really enjoyed trying to start this thing the old fashion way and it seems to me that it does cut off some weight as your not needing an electric starter up front.
av8ersteve is offline Find More Posts by av8ersteve
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 07:07 PM
Registered User
A10pilot's Avatar
United States, TX, Schertz
Joined Mar 2006
1,522 Posts
Steve:

In the future, if you need a thermocouple, might try these guys. I just ordered one from them for my turbine. Like you I am a first time turbine owner and I wanted a spare so I looked thru some posts and this is supposedly the same thremocouples used on Ram and some other units.

http://www.omega.com/pptst/JMTSS.html

I ordered the KMTSS-125(U)4 . This is an ungrounded stainless steel thermocouple that has a .250" OD sheath diamater and the thermocouple "probe" is 4" long. It is good for temps from -200C to +1250C. When you look at the website, you will see that the "probes" are offered in 6" and 12" lengths but you can also order a custom length. I ordered mine with a 4" long probe. You will have to put your own pins on the end but that is simple thing to do.

Ed
A10pilot is offline Find More Posts by A10pilot
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 09:09 PM
Registered User
Dr Honda's Avatar
Pittsburgh Allegheny, Pennsylvania, United States
Joined May 2004
1,190 Posts
The only air start turbine I know of is from AMT. BUT... you have to request it... otherwise they send an E-start version.
Dr Honda is offline Find More Posts by Dr Honda
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 03:19 AM
310mph Kolibri T25 Swist
henke's Avatar
Sverige, Kronobergs Lšn, Ljungby
Joined Jan 2001
4,828 Posts
Of the larger turbines all seem to have electric starter now days. It adds only little weight and is a nice feature, but you need to carry an extra starter motor in case of a failure. The small speed280/300 starter has a tough job, specially on the kerostart engines and do burn from time to time.
henke is online now Find More Posts by henke
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 04:37 PM
Registered User
txshan130's Avatar
United States, TX, Katy
Joined Jan 2009
418 Posts
having to refill scuba tank and having to drag all the supplies needed to the field.Been there done that.The starter motor adds very little weight to answer your question, but AMT is one of the most reliable, if not, the most reliable turbines on the market, so if you like that more power to you.
txshan130 is offline Find More Posts by txshan130
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 01:11 PM
I did it...
av8ersteve's Avatar
Morganton, NC
Joined Jun 2005
756 Posts
Well, my RAM lives!!! I have the video but its on my wife's new camera and i'm having a problem getting it off there. If nothing else, i;ll do it again and use my phone. Funnest thing I've done in FOR EVER!!! I'm hooked bad now LOL. I will post something shortly.
av8ersteve is offline Find More Posts by av8ersteve
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 04:58 PM
Registered User
Dr Honda's Avatar
Pittsburgh Allegheny, Pennsylvania, United States
Joined May 2004
1,190 Posts
Congrats !!!
Dr Honda is offline Find More Posts by Dr Honda
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 07:47 PM
Registered User
United States, FL, Orlando
Joined Sep 2003
86 Posts
Well Done! Nothing better than the smell of burning kerosene on a beautiful flying day... Test runs are a close second!!!
RAMFlyer is online now Find More Posts by RAMFlyer
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 08:27 PM
"Take Off" eh!
vettster's Avatar
Canada, ON, Beeton
Joined Aug 2008
3,231 Posts
Way to GO!! Steve

Your Hooked now... and there's no turning back lol
vettster is offline Find More Posts by vettster
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: 3DTRYER ripped me off!!!
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2013, 10:55 AM
I did it...
av8ersteve's Avatar
Morganton, NC
Joined Jun 2005
756 Posts
And here's the vid. Man I love doing this!!!

RAM 750F (3 min 27 sec)
av8ersteve is offline Find More Posts by av8ersteve
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2013, 12:42 PM
Registered User
Dr Honda's Avatar
Pittsburgh Allegheny, Pennsylvania, United States
Joined May 2004
1,190 Posts
B'out dam time !!!! (j/k)


Glad it all worked out for you. Oh... and my buddy never got back to me about the data unit.


So.... what's it gettin' mounted to??
Dr Honda is offline Find More Posts by Dr Honda
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion My first flight on my first scratchbuild. didnt know what i was doing eagle4 Foamies (Scratchbuilt) 5 Mar 06, 2013 12:03 PM
Discussion Skymaster F-86 for first turbine? Napoleon_Taner Jet Turbines 3 Feb 17, 2013 10:14 AM
Sold Cheap turbine-Simjet manual start $500 shipped inpieces Aircraft - Fuel - Jets (FS/W) 6 Jan 31, 2013 03:49 PM
Discussion Just got started, did my first flight and onward! EarthMagnet Sailplane Talk 8 Jan 10, 2013 12:56 PM
Help! My First Build - Can Someone Check My Parts List? jelled123 Multirotor Electronics 2 Jan 05, 2013 12:35 PM