SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old May 30, 2010, 04:29 AM
South Africa
Joined Feb 2009
2,882 Posts
Discussion
Pitcairn "Cabin", Autogyro Company of Arizona

Hi there!

I'm new to this side of the hobby, and am planning to build a pitcairn. I'll post a couple of photo's as I go along, and probably ask a few questions.

Having just finished a long and frustrating build, I spoke to the guys at the hobby shop, and asked if they had any kits, preferably of something old, preferably a bi plane, preferably laser cut (I'm tired of cutting ribs and stringers at the moment), and not a warbird. I also wanted something that would keep me busy for ages . . . and they asked if I would like to try this autogyro.

First impressions of the kit is that its very complete, and it would appear fairly straightforward to get together (I know, famous last words ...) - but at least there aren't all those wing ribs to cut

I am absolutely fascinated by these craft!

When I get something built I'll pop up a photo

Owl
owlsabie is online now Find More Posts by owlsabie
to remove ads between posts
Old May 30, 2010, 11:57 AM
AND FOR MY NEXT TRICK....!
Omaha Millard, Nebraska, United States
Joined Sep 2004
4,063 Posts
Owl,
This should be a fun build to watch! I wanted to order one of these and I finally found the cash to do it last November. By this time the Arizona Autogyro had switched hands and now their customer service is non-exsistant.

That being said, I think you'll find better customer service on this forum. We'll help you get up in the air. Tinmar has built one of these and I'm sure will help you on the build.

I did purchase a C.4 about 4 years ago and had no luck.....but I knew nothing about autogyros and did many things wrong. Mechanically the one thing I did wrong was I did not have a powerful servo to control the head. Make sure you get a High Torque servo to control the head movement of left and right. The rest of the servo selection is up to you.