SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Aug 15, 2006, 11:48 PM
Roll Tide!
Joined Oct 2005
325 Posts
Question
Guru specs

Dear friends,

Since I am a newbie and since I know nothing of aerodynamics or aircraft design, I thought I'd ask the gurus in this forum to be so kind as to provide specs for a plane I would love to build and then fly to my heart's content. Your suggestions will be appreciated very, very much.

Airplane characteristics: A very simple and very light stick design, like the gws j3 stick. Meant only for calm conditions or indoor flight. Will use gws gear typically found in small sticks like the gws j3 stick or lite stick (ips A motor, pico servos, etc.)

I own and fly a slow stick and a j3 stick and I love them. However, I would like to fly something that is extremely slow--an airplane that I could walk along with--or almost. It should have a long glide, power off. It will not be used for aerobatics, only for lazy floating around.

To keep it simple for myself, the wing and stabs will be rectangular structures made out of balsa and covered with craft tissue or solite. For the wing, I will make ribs, similar to the inner ribs of my gws slow stick.

So, here are the questions (Please use inches as unit). What would you suggest as measurements for:

1 Stick (fuse) length (no greater than 36")

2. Wing span and chord

3. Horizontal stabilizer span and chord. (Also elevator width).

4. Vertical stabilizer height and width. (Also rudder width).

I'll use .047 or .055 wire for the main gear and .032 or .047 wire for the skid, depending on the size of the airplane.

One last note, I've built a couple of airplanes using the slow stick and j3 sticks as general guidelines, but they just don't fly slow enough. If I can make this dream come true, I'm going to name it the Snail Stick.

Thanks again for any help and/or suggestions you may have.

Warm regards,
amigo
amigo is offline Find More Posts by amigo
to remove ads between posts