HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old May 13, 2014, 10:51 PM
Australia, QLD, Woody Point
Joined May 2012
5 Posts
Discussion
Quadcopter NOOB any suggestions to help me

Hi my names Danny and I am new to the RC groups community. So sorry for the long bla bla.. But some good help would be much appreciated and any flaws / improvements would be great to know about!

I have a lot of experience with planes and fpv with planes, however I am relatively new to the multi rotor experience and wish to get some help from you guys.

This isnt my first quad but its very similar to my first. This is my 2nd quad:

Frame: Turnigy HAL heavy aerial lift
Motor: Turnigy d2830-11 1000kv ( too small ??)
ESC: Hobbyking 25-30A ( I think this is the culprit )
Props: Turnigy slow fly 9x4.7 ( Correct prop ????? )
Flight controller: Hobbyking KK2 board
Battery: Turnigy 2200mah 3 cell lipo

Additional details:
Hobbyking distribution board

Now... the problem

First 5 flights were o.k. I managed to dial it in quite nicely. However!
the speed controllers and motors were getting pretty warm, I could touch them for longer than 5 seconds but I was a bit concerned...

I wasn't happy with my flight time so I made up a parallel harness to hold two 2200mah 3 cell batteries ( Bought same time and both equally charged ).Whilst flying in this configuration about 3min into the flight I hear a CH-CH-CH sound.. I tried to land but bent one of the motor mounts.

I tear back the ESC and find that several transistors are "Bridged" together from the solder melting across the gaps. Obviously I probably went "cheap" when it came to the ESC side of things. What would you guys recommended in general for this setup. My Goal is to start fpv with quadcopters but before that I would like a satisfactory / safe system.