HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 18, 2013, 03:03 PM
Team Aztech Aeromodels!
zmonster97's Avatar
United States, PA, Allentown
Joined May 2011
3,009 Posts
PJN is for electrics.
zmonster97 is offline Find More Posts by zmonster97
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 18, 2013, 08:36 PM
Barefoot Birkinsomething
rcbirk21's Avatar
United States, CA, Hayward
Joined Aug 2004
9,445 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by StevePortland View Post
Would you recommend the Xoar PJN or PJE. Local shop allways has the PJN and has been the default for wood props.
Quote:
Originally Posted by zmonster97 View Post
PJN is for electrics.
what he said. when in doubt, go to xoarintl.com

that is xoar's website and has all the descriptions and abbreviations. for electrics, stick to the PJN's and you will be happy
rcbirk21 is offline Find More Posts by rcbirk21
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Joe's Battery Contraption
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 09:19 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
26,692 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by StevePortland View Post
Working on a winter build of an AJ Slick 71. Great plane!! Just about got everything done, but still contemplating on a motor and prop. Any suggestions? Stick with the recommended Hacker A50-12L V2, or maybe an OS, etc. Was also thing of going with Xoar for the prop. What Im running so far is below:
4 x HiTech 7955-TGs
Castle Ice 100 ESC
Hyperion 6s 5000
Castle Ice BEC pro with Rx Pack (Thunder Power 2s 1350mAh 25C)
Spektrum AR7010 Rx
Spektrum TM1000
The Hacker A60-6XS is outstanding on 6S, and runs very cool. You can use a 20X10 or 21X10 Xoar, with no torque problems. You can run a Castle ICE 100 with no problems at all.

SteveT
SteveT. is offline Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 11:26 PM
Registered User
hertzrepkeith's Avatar
United States, CA, Hughson
Joined Jan 2012
1,113 Posts
Ok guys I have no clue what to do! I am in complete disgust right now! I have a 71 AJ Slick (Orange Scheme) 7955 Servos/ Ultra Tech BEC/ Gen Ace 1500 2S for Servos Receiver and I have a DLE 30CC Motor. I have been having issues with motor when flying inverted and right when goes back up right. I sent the motor off after replacing Ignition, Carb, Bowman Ring, Reeds, Fuel Tank. Tower then sent me a Brand new motor. I took it out to the field for the first time today and guess what (**IT STILL IS DOING IT!!!!!!!!!) I am ready to just get rid of the thing. I know you guys are going to say (Get a OS motor!) But is it really the motor?? I don't know what the odds of that would be! Sorry for the novel I just don't know what to do anymore.
hertzrepkeith is offline Find More Posts by hertzrepkeith
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 11:42 PM
3d NOOBular
3DNater's Avatar
USA, UT, St George
Joined Aug 2010
7,996 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hertzrepkeith View Post
Ok guys I have no clue what to do! I am in complete disgust right now! I have a 71 AJ Slick (Orange Scheme) 7955 Servos/ Ultra Tech BEC/ Gen Ace 1500 2S for Servos Receiver and I have a DLE 30CC Motor. I have been having issues with motor when flying inverted and right when goes back up right. I sent the motor off after replacing Ignition, Carb, Bowman Ring, Reeds, Fuel Tank. Tower then sent me a Brand new motor. I took it out to the field for the first time today and guess what (**IT STILL IS DOING IT!!!!!!!!!) I am ready to just get rid of the thing. I know you guys are going to say (Get a OS motor!) But is it really the motor?? I don't know what the odds of that would be! Sorry for the novel I just don't know what to do anymore.
You have gremlins or something in that bird. Sorry to hear about you having so much trouble. I think the odds of having the same issue on two motors is close to zero. There has to be something else wrong somewhere... Could you possibly have an air leak in your fuel line or something? I know you have checked everything a zillion times by now... wish I could help.
3DNater is online now Find More Posts by 3DNater
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 11:45 PM
inverted-i-fly
3drcparts's Avatar
United States, CA, Petaluma
Joined Mar 2011
4,372 Posts
does sound like a fuel delivered problem.

Just convert to electric and sell brand new dle30
3drcparts is offline Find More Posts by 3drcparts
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 11:48 PM
Registered User
hertzrepkeith's Avatar
United States, CA, Hughson
Joined Jan 2012
1,113 Posts
I am ready to just sell this garbage!! I love the plane just think I need to take a deep breath and strip everything out of it and start over. I am going to throw another new tank in it and put new fuel line in it again. I have already tried running a different battery straight to ignition, but I have another switch that i am going to just try to see what happens.** Atleast I have a New 74 Edge Electric to fly in the mean time!
Quote:
Originally Posted by brathanke View Post
You have gremlins or something in that bird. Sorry to hear about you having so much trouble. I think the odds of having the same issue on two motors is close to zero. There has to be something else wrong somewhere... Could you possibly have an air leak in your fuel line or something? I know you have checked everything a zillion times by now... wish I could help.
hertzrepkeith is offline Find More Posts by hertzrepkeith
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 11:52 PM
3D Wanna Be
sk8rob's Avatar
Oahu, Hawaii
Joined Jul 2009
3,296 Posts
It might be a dumb question, but did you tune the engine before flying it?
sk8rob is offline Find More Posts by sk8rob
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 11:55 PM
Registered User
hertzrepkeith's Avatar
United States, CA, Hughson
Joined Jan 2012
1,113 Posts
Yes I tuned the engine. I never even flew it. I was running the first tank of fuel on the ground. Engine is running great. Instantly right when I flip the plane over it dies instantly!
Quote:
Originally Posted by sk8rob View Post
It might be a dumb question, but did you tune the engine before flying it?
hertzrepkeith is offline Find More Posts by hertzrepkeith
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2013, 01:48 PM
3D Wanna Be
sk8rob's Avatar
Oahu, Hawaii
Joined Jul 2009
3,296 Posts
You flip it over while on the ground? It's possible that its starving for fuel. You may want to richen the low a smidgen.
sk8rob is offline Find More Posts by sk8rob
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2013, 02:10 PM
bryansifsof44's Avatar
United States, AK, Anchorage
Joined Oct 2011
4,628 Posts
Thanks again Steve... Finally got around to installing them.
Name: ImageUploadedByTapatalk1358626220.438001.jpg
Views: 78
Size: 115.3 KB
Description:
bryansifsof44 is offline Find More Posts by bryansifsof44
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Weights for planes
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2013, 02:20 PM
3D Addict
alfabeast's Avatar
Merrimac, MA
Joined Jan 2006
1,017 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hertzrepkeith View Post
I am ready to just sell this garbage!! I love the plane just think I need to take a deep breath and strip everything out of it and start over. I am going to throw another new tank in it and put new fuel line in it again. I have already tried running a different battery straight to ignition, but I have another switch that i am going to just try to see what happens.** Atleast I have a New 74 Edge Electric to fly in the mean time!
I went thru the same thing with a dle 20 and a 68-in velox. I sold the engine and went electric after one last dead stick. Electric is a simpler install too, no vibration, better throttle response, etc etc.
alfabeast is offline Find More Posts by alfabeast
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2013, 02:33 PM
Registered User
hertzrepkeith's Avatar
United States, CA, Hughson
Joined Jan 2012
1,113 Posts
Convert Electric

How hard is is to convert to Electric? What all do I have to change?? I had a guy PM this morning on a few things to try and I am going to give it a go. If it does not work I am really thinking of just going Electric if it will not cost me too much. Oh and too answer the other question. I have tried to Richen/ Lean it you name it and I have tried it. I would just get a OS if I knew that would solve my problem, but I am not too sure that is where it is at.
Quote:
Originally Posted by alfabeast View Post
I went thru the same thing with a dle 20 and a 68-in velox. I sold the engine and went electric after one last dead stick. Electric is a simpler install too, no vibration, better throttle response, etc etc.
hertzrepkeith is offline Find More Posts by hertzrepkeith
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2013, 02:50 PM
Barefoot Birkinsomething
rcbirk21's Avatar
United States, CA, Hayward
Joined Aug 2004
9,445 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hertzrepkeith View Post
How hard is is to convert to Electric? What all do I have to change?? I had a guy PM this morning on a few things to try and I am going to give it a go. If it does not work I am really thinking of just going Electric if it will not cost me too much. Oh and too answer the other question. I have tried to Richen/ Lean it you name it and I have tried it. I would just get a OS if I knew that would solve my problem, but I am not too sure that is where it is at.
you already have the packs for your 74 edge, correct? 6s5000 packs will work perfect in this airframe
rcbirk21 is offline Find More Posts by rcbirk21
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Joe's Battery Contraption
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2013, 02:55 PM
lazy 3D specialist
ronbo111's Avatar
United States, OH, Canal Winchester
Joined May 2007
2,046 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hertzrepkeith View Post
How hard is is to convert to Electric? What all do I have to change?? I had a guy PM this morning on a few things to try and I am going to give it a go. If it does not work I am really thinking of just going Electric if it will not cost me too much. Oh and too answer the other question. I have tried to Richen/ Lean it you name it and I have tried it. I would just get a OS if I knew that would solve my problem, but I am not too sure that is where it is at.
There is a break in period with any new gas engine , if you want to stay with gas I would use Lawnboy 30 to 1 mix for the DLE for the first 3 to 5 gallions and just fly the plane around with good airflow and tune as you go. This worked well for my DLE 55 and it runs great now.That said ,I seen alot of of pilots have trouble with the DLE 30
ronbo111 is offline Find More Posts by ronbo111
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Poll 3D hobby shop 51" slick or 55" SHP? appleflyer 3D Flying 24 Mar 24, 2009 06:29 PM
Video 3D Hobby Shop's AJ Slick Clark Warfel Electric Plane Talk 3 May 08, 2008 07:31 AM