SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Sep 30, 2011, 03:13 PM
SDF
Joined Sep 2002
272 Posts
Discussion
M-1 Design and Build

Hey, everyone. I am new to this tank forum. I am usually lurking in the ducted fan forums, but these tanks have caught my interest. I have used Google SketchUp to design many airplane models, but thought I'd give a tank a try. I have chosen to model the M-1. I wanted to do it in 1/6 scale, but after looking and seeing the size of those monsters, I have chosen 1/8 scale. This puts the size legally into the rules I found on rctankcombat.com. The beauty of CAD is that the size can be changed with a couple mouse clicks should I choose to go larger.

I'm trying not to be too ambitious with this first project. If I get a rolling and steerable chasis to start with, I will be pleased. The hull will be constructed of 1/2" plywood. To save weight, the turret will be made using the fiberglass/lost foam technique with an integrated bottom plywood plate to mount the marker and rotating mechanism. It will be laid up with several layers of 7.8 oz cloth that I have on hand. Four or five layers ought to do it if properly laid with the cloth bias in mind.

The suspension consists of 1/2" bolts going through 1/2 aluminum swing arms. Another bolt goes through the hull sides onto another aluminum arm that will somehow be connected to a spring mounted to ply runners inside the hull. I thought about the spring-in-groove solution that many people have used, but I think rock and other debris can get into the spring and cause trouble since these mechanics are external. I want all of my parts inside.

I have yet to design the rest of the internals because I am not versed well on drive trains. I have looked over many many pages and can't decide what to do. I need suggestions for controllers and motors. I have seen the Sabertooth 25A controller and am leaning towards that. Please feel free to offer any tips and suggestions.