HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 23, 2012, 12:18 AM
RC Reviews & Tx Setup Guides
Tom Z's Avatar
United States
Joined Sep 2007
3,492 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xermalk View Post
Are the brushless motors supposed to have high frequency vibrations? both my c05 motors vibrate even without pinions, completely assembled my mini vibrates to the point it moves around on the floor with 0 pitch.

I had to lower the gyro sens slightly so that the gyro stopped shaking the servos when hovering indoors.

One c05 is a 11000kv 1.5mm / 7&8T from HK and the other is a 11500kv 1mm / 9T from Chinese Jade.

All the C05 motors I have run very smooth with no vibrations.


Tom
Tom Z is offline Find More Posts by Tom Z
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 23, 2012, 01:41 AM
Registered User
Sweden, Helsingborg
Joined Jun 2012
2,775 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Z View Post
All the C05 motors I have run very smooth with no vibrations.


Tom
So you have absolutly no vibrations if you run them without a pinion?
If so im going to have to see how good hk's international support is. Does hk have a represe tati e here on rcg?
Xermalk is online now Find More Posts by Xermalk
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2012, 09:28 AM
RC Reviews & Tx Setup Guides
Tom Z's Avatar
United States
Joined Sep 2007
3,492 Posts
No vibrations with or without a pinion.
If your getting motor vibrations check for a bent motor shaft or bent bell.

Check for main blades out of balance or something bent or loose. Also look down at the heli while it is running and make sure the button on the head is smooth and not wobbling.

If the gyro gain on the rx is set too high the servos can rock up and down so you need to back down the pot until the rocking stops.


Tom
Tom Z is offline Find More Posts by Tom Z
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2012, 10:19 AM
Registered User
Sweden, Helsingborg
Joined Jun 2012
2,775 Posts
Then im going to have to contact hk when i get home. I have vibrations even without a pinion. Strange though as the shaft looks to be straight.

Ps. Tablet typos ftl.
Xermalk is online now Find More Posts by Xermalk
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2012, 11:14 AM
Registered User
Mitchie's Avatar
Canada, QC, Gatineau
Joined Jan 2011
1,856 Posts
Motor's just not balanced right from the factory.... I imagine it happens once in a while.
Mitchie is online now Find More Posts by Mitchie
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2012, 08:24 AM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2012
37 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Z View Post
Sounds like the gear mesh is not correct or the pinion is slipping
on the motor shaft. Is your pinion a M0.5?
If gear mesh or pinion slipping on the motor shaft is not the problem then
you may have a bad motor bearing.
It is not slipping, I got a 9T Pinion 0.4M for 1.5mm shaft from here

I filmed the motor running by itself

and mounted


Does anything seem suspicious to you?
johan_alps is offline Find More Posts by johan_alps
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2012, 10:23 AM
RC Reviews & Tx Setup Guides
Tom Z's Avatar
United States
Joined Sep 2007
3,492 Posts
The pinion is the problem. The Mini CP needs a 0.5M pinion and you have
a 0.4M which the teeth are too close together for the main gear teeth and is causing that noise and less flight time.
I heard gear mesh noise in your videos so that is why I asked what mod pinion you have.

The V120D02S V2 which I have uses the 0.4M pinion. Also the Blade 130X uses the 0.4M pinion.

All you need to do is to get a 0.5M pinion and installed it on your motor. I would also replace the main gear as the teeth will have some wear and or damage on it from the pinion that you have on there now.


Tom
Tom Z is offline Find More Posts by Tom Z
Last edited by Tom Z; Nov 24, 2012 at 11:54 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 03:41 AM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2012
37 Posts
Alright, I'll do that.

Thanks a lot Tom!
johan_alps is offline Find More Posts by johan_alps
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 11:11 AM
Registered User
Sweden, Helsingborg
Joined Jun 2012
2,775 Posts
HK support wanted me to add some tube videos of my vibrating C05M, might as well link them here.

Only motor connected, no pinion.

C05M-11000 Vibrations with no pinion installed. (0 min 0 sec)


8T pinion & 50%/stock gyro. i have to constantly manage the cyclic to prevent it from falling over.

20121125 134704 (0 min 58 sec)
Xermalk is online now Find More Posts by Xermalk
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 01:42 PM
RC Reviews & Tx Setup Guides
Tom Z's Avatar
United States
Joined Sep 2007
3,492 Posts
That looks normal to me. The heli isn't going to sit in one spot when you rev it up even with the main gear off so just the motor spins.

The pulling to the left in the bottom video is normal.

If the RX gyro pot gain is set too high the servos can rock up and down or what you can call shaking. This is for RX gyro gain not TX gyro gain.

I think you can put the heli back together, adjust the RX gyro pot gain if needed so there is no rocking up and down of the servos (shaking) and your all set. Turn up your gyro gain in your TX as high as you can go without getting tail wag. Start at 82% and work your way up or down if needed.
TX gyro gain at 50% is way too low if that is what you mean. There is gyro gain on the RX pot and gyro gain in the TX.


Tom
Tom Z is offline Find More Posts by Tom Z
Last edited by Tom Z; Nov 25, 2012 at 04:37 PM. Reason: Grammer corrected
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 02:46 PM
Registered User
Sweden, Helsingborg
Joined Jun 2012
2,775 Posts
Its rx gyro gain 50%/ 6 o clock, where it is when shipped from walkera.
to stop the servos shaking i have to lower it to ~ 3-4. basically almost disabling the gyro.

Edit
I have also hovered it indoors, the heli shakes trying to stay still in the air.
Ill see if i can get someone to hold the camera while im hovering tomorrow.
Xermalk is online now Find More Posts by Xermalk
Last edited by Xermalk; Nov 25, 2012 at 03:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 03:32 PM
Deviant
sbstnp's Avatar
Joined Jul 2012
1,167 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xermalk View Post
Its rx gyro gain 50%/ 6 o clock, where it is when shipped from walkera.
to stop the servos shaking i have to lower it to ~ 3-4. basically almost disabling the gyro.

Edit
I have also hovered it indoors, the heli shakes trying to stay still in the air.
Ill see if i can get someone to hold the camera while im hovering tomorrow.
The pot on the RX does not disable the gyro in any position. Just lowers/increases the gain. Do not mistake the FBL unit's gyro with the tail heading-hold gyro which is diabled under 50%.
sbstnp is online now Find More Posts by sbstnp
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 04:02 PM
RC Reviews & Tx Setup Guides
Tom Z's Avatar
United States
Joined Sep 2007
3,492 Posts
Here is a picture of my mini cp rx gyro pot at the factory position.
Use the flat spot (tail) on the pot as a reference to the clock positions to set it to.
You should be able to go as high as 3-4 o-clock position without having the
gyros rock on you. The MCP is super stable with the pot at the
4 o-clock position. It is almost like a coaxial helicopter. The pot will reach the max
gyro gain at about the 5 o-clock position.

I would set it back to 12 o-clock position and slowly increase it (clockwise) if you want it to be more stable just until it the servos rock and then back it off a bit.

Heli shakes could be the main blades out of balance or something bent or loose.
Make sure the RX is secure also.



Click the picture for full size.
btw, walkera marked the pot red not me.


http://static.rcgroups.net/forums/at...CF2509%202.jpg




Tom
Tom Z is offline Find More Posts by Tom Z
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 04:15 PM
Registered User
Sweden, Helsingborg
Joined Jun 2012
2,775 Posts
Thats exactly how i have mine. servos are rocking there.
I used the other side of the pot screw when i tell where its calibrated for. so my 6 o'clock is your 12. (i have a black dot opposite the flat spot on my one of my rx'es).

Last time i checked my 3 sets of blades were balanced, i balanced them using a toothpick as pivot in the mount holes.

Im going to do a complete rebuild tomorrow and see so the feathering shaft and mainshaft are ok.

They should be though as they have less that 10 flights on them. even my bearings are fairly new.
The fact that the entire frame is vibrating when i have no pinion on is why im suspecting the vibration issue is the c05m, and the vibes gets amplified when its fully assembled.
Xermalk is online now Find More Posts by Xermalk
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 04:30 PM
RC Reviews & Tx Setup Guides
Tom Z's Avatar
United States
Joined Sep 2007
3,492 Posts
The entire frame is vibrating when you have no pinion
sounds like your motor bell is out of balance which would cause your vibration.
I have seen some way out of balance and some off just a bit.

See this video.

Bad balanced of my new HP08 motor causes huge vibration of my 4G6.

HP08 Outrunner Brushless Motor Balance (0 min 57 sec)



Tom
Tom Z is offline Find More Posts by Tom Z
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anybody use two packs for speed 400 twins? Daniel English Electric Plane Talk 69 Feb 26, 2014 04:49 PM
Discussion NiCad Disposal GaryK Batteries and Chargers 28 Jan 16, 2014 01:16 PM
Which sensorless SC will work the best for an F7LMR and 10 cells? GregG Electric Plane Talk 6 Nov 18, 2013 08:21 PM
ARF's Cheaper Than Built-Up's Models E-Challenged Electric Plane Talk 42 Aug 01, 2013 10:25 AM
x250...not fair!! tnsfrk Electric Plane Talk 28 Jan 08, 2012 09:30 AM