HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 10, 2009, 05:15 AM
Registered User
DougV's Avatar
United States, FL, Miramar
Joined Dec 2007
1,242 Posts
My 8FG came in from Tower last night, It's now $370. after the rebate and club member discounts.

I really like this radio.

Doug.
DougV is offline Find More Posts by DougV
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 10, 2009, 08:30 AM
A man with too many toys
United States
Joined Feb 2001
17,630 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DougV View Post
My 8FG came in from Tower last night, It's now $370. after the rebate and club member discounts.

I really like this radio.

Doug.
I sure wish I could get out and fly my 8FGH more. The weather in the mid-west has really turned bad over the last few days




.
RC Man is offline Find More Posts by RC Man
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2009, 08:38 AM
Registered User
Greybird's Avatar
Florida
Joined Nov 2004
6,619 Posts
It is 86 degrees here in S. Florida. Very humid too. Send some cold this way...
Greybird is offline Find More Posts by Greybird
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2009, 10:21 AM
Are there crawfish in heaven??
Joined Apr 2004
277 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greybird View Post
It is 86 degrees here in S. Florida. Very humid too. Send some cold this way...
I'd be glad to send all the cold you want. We're originally from the New Orleans area, moved about 11 yrs ago. I know all about flying in hot, humid weather. The club I belonged to had a covered pit area with ceiling fans and ac in the clubhouse, very nice.

Hey Steve, I'll be at E-fest this time. Looking forward to some great indoor flying. Plus, I want, uh need more lipos, rx's etc. My radio shipped from Tower yesterday, can't wait.
jcg1112 is offline Find More Posts by jcg1112
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2009, 11:52 PM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2008
7 Posts
Could use a little direction on pgrming 8fg

I have a plane with separate servos for the ailerons and separate servos for the flaps. Using the standard 8FG setup for two ailerons and two flaps the flaps have ended up on rotary switch LD. There doesn't appear to be a crow associated with this setup

I would like to have "Crow" and/or "Air brakes" on one (or two) of the switches. Switch SH may be a candidate for it.

I thought someone out there may be able to give me some insight on this. I have quite a bit of time in it but no progress.

Thanks

Bill Ellis
Sunny Green Valley, AZ
Bill@PlayCribbage.com
twogumshoes is offline Find More Posts by twogumshoes
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2009, 12:35 AM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2008
7 Posts
I have an 8fg that I need help programing

Shortly after the post above, I tried it again and this time got it straight. crow on SH and switched on and off by SP.

Just don't ask me how.

Bill
Sunny, Green Valley, AZ
Fly every day. (almost)
twogumshoes is offline Find More Posts by twogumshoes
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2009, 09:15 AM
Are there crawfish in heaven??
Joined Apr 2004
277 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by twogumshoes View Post
Shortly after the post above, I tried it again and this time got it straight. crow on SH and switched on and off by SP.

Just don't ask me how.

Bill
Sunny, Green Valley, AZ
Fly every day. (almost)
Glad you go it. I actually used the glider programming of my 9CAPS to activate crow on my Ultrastick 60 with a 4 servo wing. It would have been a real pain in the butt to use individual p-mixes to accomplish something that was already predefined. I set the on/off on a switch and it gradually fed in based on throttle stick position. Much more straight forward as it also allowed me to mix in down elevator to keep the nose from ballooning. This worked great and it was a blast to point the nose straight down, pop crow and then pull up just a few feet off the deck. Got a bunch of stares and oh thinking it was going to do a lawn dart. The crow works well to keep the speed down. It was also fun to turn it on and just drag the tail almost on the ground it would go so slow.
jcg1112 is offline Find More Posts by jcg1112
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2009, 11:06 AM
Faster!
Joshua Wesley's Avatar
United States, NV, Sparks
Joined Oct 2004
1,141 Posts
Got the 8FG yesterday. I'm going to set up a Slow Stick equiped with a 6106HFC to get familiar with the radio and determine what exactly "mid range" means.

First Question: What is the point of the Limit Point under the End Point adjustement menu? Isn't having a travel adjustment and a limit point adjustment a little redundant?

-Joshua
Joshua Wesley is offline Find More Posts by Joshua Wesley
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2009, 12:14 PM
Registered User
DougV's Avatar
United States, FL, Miramar
Joined Dec 2007
1,242 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joshua Wesley View Post
Got the 8FG yesterday. I'm going to set up a Slow Stick equiped with a 6106HFC to get familiar with the radio and determine what exactly "mid range" means.

First Question: What is the point of the Limit Point under the End Point adjustement menu? Isn't having a travel adjustment and a limit point adjustment a little redundant?

-Joshua
At least half a mile with that R6106HFC.

Here you go: http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_74...tm.htm#7491009

Doug.
DougV is offline Find More Posts by DougV
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2009, 12:51 PM
Registered User
canavanbob's Avatar
CA
Joined Feb 2004
435 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joshua Wesley View Post

First Question: What is the point of the Limit Point under the End Point adjustement menu? Isn't having a travel adjustment and a limit point adjustment a little redundant?

-Joshua
No, the travel limit is the most the servo will travel with any mixes applied. End points only apply to the basic stick travel. The limit keeps the servo from trying to move too far if a mix gives more than max travel.
canavanbob is offline Find More Posts by canavanbob
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2009, 02:14 PM
Rsetiegerd Uesr
CyberJay's Avatar
USA, AR, Cave Springs
Joined Apr 2005
3,052 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by canavanbob View Post
No, the travel limit is the most the servo will travel with any mixes applied. End points only apply to the basic stick travel. The limit keeps the servo from trying to move too far if a mix gives more than max travel.
To give an example, on my 3 channel R/E/T planes I mix my right and left stick together since I use rudder quite a bit on my 4 channel planes. I still do "coordinated" turns using both sticks when flying 3 channel just out of habit.

So I have my travel at 100% and I have my limit also set at 100%. That way if I give it full right aileron AND full right rudder the servo only moves to 100%. Without this feature it would be breaking something... haha

-Jay
CyberJay is offline Find More Posts by CyberJay
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2009, 03:09 PM
Are there crawfish in heaven??
Joined Apr 2004
277 Posts
Got my 8FG yesterday, but had to charge it first! It's got a bunch of neat programming features. I can't believe how much lighter it is that my 9CAPS and thinner too. Shouldn't have any problems adapting. Feels weird not having that antenna sticking way out in front all the time. Gonna setup my GP Reactor, e-powered of course. I'm using all digital servos, so I'll get a good feel for the high speed mode of the 8 channel receiver. Just need to start switching over my other planes now.
jcg1112 is offline Find More Posts by jcg1112
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2009, 03:28 PM
Registered User
pilotpete2's Avatar
The Northeast Kingdom, Vermont
Joined Jun 2004
5,208 Posts
Hey Jay,
I have to use the rudder/aileron mix too, for any R/E/T planes I fly. Funny how the instant the wheels touch down, you can't steer unless you have the mix
Pete
pilotpete2 is offline Find More Posts by pilotpete2
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2009, 02:39 PM
Registered User
NL
Joined Sep 2006
19 Posts
Butterfly slave

Hi guys,

spent my x-mas with my family and the new t8fg toy. Love them both!

one think I could not crack: I want the butterfly and motor to be ruled by J2. Took 10 minutes to make motor and flaps slaves for either end of the J2 travel, but when I want butterfly instead of flaps to be governed by the first 50% of J2 travel, nothing happens.

Tried to make butterfly slave of any other function and or switch using the prog. mixes, but to no avail. All other functions do work, but butterfly gives nothing. Anyone any clues?

BTW I experienced the powerswitch to be stuck. After some messing around a little piece of slivery plastic fell out and all is great again. Very disturbing, but I forgive them...
krelis is offline Find More Posts by krelis
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 05, 2010, 01:16 PM
Registered User
NL
Joined Sep 2006
19 Posts
Robbe/Futaba answer

Callled the guys in Germany; Simple answer: You'r not supposed to mix it like that; just assign the butterfly to your stick, use the offset to get the motion started where you want. You can assign the motor to the same stick, or through a mixer if you need to.

So it's not entirely clear when you would want to use the butterfly as a slave, but my problem has been resolved without having to use 3 mixers for it.

Great service btw
krelis is offline Find More Posts by krelis
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Focus 3 FM question. Also, about that new Futaba 3 ch. . . EFoil Parkflyers 5 Oct 19, 2001 11:59 AM
Wanted New Futaba T6XHS / Complete xios3 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 2 Aug 04, 2001 06:16 AM
4- New Futaba S-148 Servos $45 Shipped xios3 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Aug 01, 2001 04:49 PM
New futaba 3 channel ss radio! carl schaller Electric Plane Talk 6 Jun 24, 2001 08:21 PM
New Futaba FF9 to replace FF8? John E Electric Plane Talk 5 Jun 10, 2001 05:41 AM