SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Dec 26, 2014, 07:20 PM
Joined Nov 2014
9 Posts
Question
How to ACTUALLY setup an FPV system for a beginner?

So I've done a lot of research (well, I think) into FPV and there are SOOOOO many different makes of the same things, cameras, receivers, on screen display stuff etc. and it's all so confusing for a newbie like me to understand what exactly I need for an FPV setup

I've been flying my home built hexacopter for a couple of months now and I want to be able to explore just a little bit more so figured why not add FPV. All I'm wanting is a basic FPV system with a small camera (nothing special) which can have a range of a few hundred meters, but if it can go further then why not

What exactly is it I need? What parts etc and how do I connect it all together? I'm not too fussed if the system has to have a separate small battery for a power supply.I'd prefer to have an LCD display rather than goggles....for now.

People here seem to know a lot and so I'm hoping you guys can give me a helping hand.

Oh, and also, I'm on a tight budget. The cheaper the better I know quality will be compromised but I can improve later on.

Pavery is offline Find More Posts by Pavery
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 26, 2014, 08:42 PM
Bay Area
Joined Dec 2010
2,431 Posts
Info here might help:
GSTV - Getting Started in FPV - Picking Your System (15 min 39 sec)
CaliDave is online now Find More Posts by CaliDave
Old Dec 26, 2014, 09:05 PM
Eschew obfuscation
United States, GA, Kennesaw
Joined May 2011
974 Posts
Here is some inexpensive all-in-one, if that is what you want, but a bit more research and you can build-your-own.
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2184050
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2234785
Qwin is offline Find More Posts by Qwin
Old Dec 30, 2014, 04:56 PM
helis, boats, cars and planes
United States, AZ, Prescott
Joined Oct 2013
428 Posts