New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Nov 27, 2012, 12:39 PM
zemkes_wolfpack is offline
Find More Posts by zemkes_wolfpack
Team Hitec, Team Sebart RC
United States, IN, Winamac
Joined Jan 2006
101 Posts
rayonnair,

Nice job on the repair. Keep up the good work and good luck.

Best Wishes,

Jim
Team PA
zemkes_wolfpack is offline Find More Posts by zemkes_wolfpack
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 27, 2012, 02:18 PM
chop stiX is offline
Find More Posts by chop stiX
how'd I do that....oh
chop stiX's Avatar
South Africa, GP, Pretoria
Joined May 2011
2,302 Posts
nice repair job rayonair.almost like it was never damaged
chop stiX is offline Find More Posts by chop stiX
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 02:49 PM
HeeBeeGeeBee is offline
Find More Posts by HeeBeeGeeBee
Lysdexic I'm
HeeBeeGeeBee's Avatar
Spring, TX
Joined Oct 2010
1,408 Posts
Very nice indeed. First rate job.
HeeBeeGeeBee is offline Find More Posts by HeeBeeGeeBee
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 04:36 PM
Mr Kamikaze is online now
Find More Posts by Mr Kamikaze
I'm torquing to you!
Mr Kamikaze's Avatar
Wattle Grove NSW Australia
Joined Nov 2006
7,497 Posts
+100
Mr Kamikaze is online now Find More Posts by Mr Kamikaze
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 06:56 PM
rayonnair is online now
Find More Posts by rayonnair
Registered User
rayonnair's Avatar
Singapore, Singapore
Joined Jun 2012
2,192 Posts
Thanks guys .

Let ya'll know how it goes.
rayonnair is online now Find More Posts by rayonnair
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 11:32 PM
chop stiX is offline
Find More Posts by chop stiX
how'd I do that....oh
chop stiX's Avatar
South Africa, GP, Pretoria
Joined May 2011
2,302 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rayonnair View Post
Thanks guys .

Let ya'll know how it goes.
get those crazy FAST KE spins going
chop stiX is offline Find More Posts by chop stiX
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 05:53 AM
theBrent is offline
Find More Posts by theBrent
3d electric is my world.....
Australia, QLD, Beaudesert
Joined Aug 2011
44 Posts
Hi all,

Sorry to bring up a subject i can see many posts on, just still not clear after reading though. I am about to build the PA Ultimate, and was thinking of using the stock 45a ESC from the drive package and motor. I was heading towards using 4 x Hitec HS65MG. Someone wrote that this then needed a separate BEC. The specs on the Quantum 45 esc says that it has continuous BEC output of 5.6v, 4a, with 6a burst. Will this be okay? Otherwise i am considering purchasing an expensive 50a Castle ESC.
theBrent is offline Find More Posts by theBrent
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 06:07 AM
demonGti is offline
Find More Posts by demonGti
Precision Aerobatics Team
demonGti's Avatar
South Africa, GP, Randburg
Joined Dec 2006
2,120 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by theBrent View Post
Hi all,

Sorry to bring up a subject i can see many posts on, just still not clear after reading though. I am about to build the PA Ultimate, and was thinking of using the stock 45a ESC from the drive package and motor. I was heading towards using 4 x Hitec HS65MG. Someone wrote that this then needed a separate BEC. The specs on the Quantum 45 esc says that it has continuous BEC output of 5.6v, 4a, with 6a burst. Will this be okay? Otherwise i am considering purchasing an expensive 50a Castle ESC.
I'm sure it will be fine.
My AMR, 260, ADX and Bandit are all running just fine on the Quantum45 with no external BEC.
demonGti is offline Find More Posts by demonGti
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 08:05 AM
zemkes_wolfpack is offline
Find More Posts by zemkes_wolfpack
Team Hitec, Team Sebart RC
United States, IN, Winamac
Joined Jan 2006
101 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by theBrent View Post
Hi all,

Sorry to bring up a subject i can see many posts on, just still not clear after reading though. I am about to build the PA Ultimate, and was thinking of using the stock 45a ESC from the drive package and motor. I was heading towards using 4 x Hitec HS65MG. Someone wrote that this then needed a separate BEC. The specs on the Quantum 45 esc says that it has continuous BEC output of 5.6v, 4a, with 6a burst. Will this be okay? Otherwise i am considering purchasing an expensive 50a Castle ESC.
You are fine using the Quantum 45 and the Hitec servos. No need for a seperate BEC nor do you need to use the 50a Castle.

Don't hesitate to PM me if you have further questions.

Best Wishes!!

Jim
Team PA
zemkes_wolfpack is offline Find More Posts by zemkes_wolfpack
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 11:11 AM
bsbauman is offline
Find More Posts by bsbauman
DFC~ We Do Flyin' Right
bsbauman's Avatar
USA, GA, Atlanta
Joined Nov 2008
15,572 Posts
Use the ipa and do not think twice about it. The ESC and Motor are a proven combo.
bsbauman is offline Find More Posts by bsbauman
RCG Plus Member
Old Nov 28, 2012, 04:44 PM
subsonic is online now
Find More Posts by subsonic
If it's to be, it's up to me.
subsonic's Avatar
Sydney, Australia
Joined Jan 2007
3,176 Posts
It was me that wrote about having my system brown out using the Quantum 45's internal BEC ages ago. I was using Hitec 5065 servos (digital). It happened after a hundred or so flights. The internal BEC in that ESC might be fine for analogue serovs, but is marginal for the load of four digital servos.

If PA say that you can run 4x analogue servos off the internal BEC, then who am I to argue? If you're running digitals though, think twice because my experience was not a good one with that combo.
subsonic is online now Find More Posts by subsonic
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 08:18 PM
bsbauman is offline
Find More Posts by bsbauman
DFC~ We Do Flyin' Right
bsbauman's Avatar
USA, GA, Atlanta
Joined Nov 2008
15,572 Posts
Good point sub- while I wholeheartedly endorse the Q45, I need to state I have no experience running digis on that esc. Anyone who has read my experience with this esc should probably take that into consideration...
bsbauman is offline Find More Posts by bsbauman
RCG Plus Member
Old Nov 28, 2012, 08:25 PM
zemkes_wolfpack is offline
Find More Posts by zemkes_wolfpack
Team Hitec, Team Sebart RC
United States, IN, Winamac
Joined Jan 2006
101 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by subsonic View Post
It was me that wrote about having my system brown out using the Quantum 45's internal BEC ages ago. I was using Hitec 5065 servos (digital). It happened after a hundred or so flights. The internal BEC in that ESC might be fine for analogue serovs, but is marginal for the load of four digital servos.

If PA say that you can run 4x analogue servos off the internal BEC, then who am I to argue? If you're running digitals though, think twice because my experience was not a good one with that combo.
Subsonic,

Not sure why you had an issue but we are flying a Bandit(Thrust 40/Quantum 45) that has well over 100 flights with 5065MG digitals and have experienced no issues whatsoever.

There are several factors that lead to increased load in servos and the difference in load between a 65MG and a 5065MG is negligible at best when using the PA recommended setup. However, binding in surface deflection, poor solder joints on the extensions, etc. can lead to increased current draw which could lead to failure from excessive heat.

Best Wishes,

Jim
Team PA
zemkes_wolfpack is offline Find More Posts by zemkes_wolfpack
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 08:48 PM
subsonic is online now
Find More Posts by subsonic
If it's to be, it's up to me.
subsonic's Avatar
Sydney, Australia
Joined Jan 2007
3,176 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by zemkes_wolfpack View Post
Subsonic,

Not sure why you had an issue but we are flying a Bandit(Thrust 40/Quantum 45) that has well over 100 flights with 5065MG digitals and have experienced no issues whatsoever.

There are several factors that lead to increased load in servos and the difference in load between a 65MG and a 5065MG is negligible at best when using the PA recommended setup. However, binding in surface deflection, poor solder joints on the extensions, etc. can lead to increased current draw which could lead to failure from excessive heat.

Best Wishes,

Jim
Team PA
Fair enough, but there was no binding in my system at the time of failure. Maybe my servos were getting old and drawing more current? Just going through my records and I had 169 flights on that combination before the brownout. They were operating fine up that point. I never measured the resistance in the servo wires after the brownout. I was using the PA thin (30g?) extension wire soldered in place.

If given the same circumstances, what would you do? I installed a separate BEC and had no further issue.
subsonic is online now Find More Posts by subsonic
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 09:48 PM
YellowJacketsRC is offline
Find More Posts by YellowJacketsRC
They Call him Dead!
YellowJacketsRC's Avatar
United States, SC, Pawleys Island
Joined Jul 2003
7,577 Posts
A 3 Amp BEC is minimal....
YellowJacketsRC is offline Find More Posts by YellowJacketsRC
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GP Ultimate Biplane conversion SoarNeck Sport Planes 14 Dec 28, 2008 09:11 PM
Simple Series Ultimate Biplane exowatt Sport Planes 4 Jul 09, 2002 09:35 AM
Ultimate Biplane Templates for Foam Construction Here hoppy Sport Planes 8 Mar 17, 2002 08:34 PM
ULTIMATE BIPLANE - Another Meat Tray (Depron) Project. hoppy Foamies (Kits) 65 Jan 10, 2002 12:51 PM
Ultimate Biplane Colourschemes Armin Mangelmann Scale Kit/Scratch Built 9 Dec 08, 2001 08:03 PM