HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jun 30, 2012, 10:58 PM
RCPlaye
United States, CT, East Hartford
Joined Aug 2009
711 Posts
Question
How to Learn CAD

So I an a total noob at CAD, all I know is what CAD stands for, but I want to learn it and eventually become a pro, so does anyone know any good online or otherwise resources, or any tips on how to start.
CoolBudz is offline Find More Posts by CoolBudz
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 01, 2012, 09:05 AM
My cat moderates better
Australia, QLD, Worongary
Joined Apr 2011
554 Posts
Just type in the things you want to learn, along with the name of your CAD program, into Youtube search.
There's a heap of info out there and lots of videos on just about anything you need.
(That's what I've found with Autocad at least)
BillzillaAus is offline Find More Posts by BillzillaAus
Old Jul 01, 2012, 10:09 PM
RCPlaye
Joined Aug 2009
711 Posts
There are lots of those programs which one is the best?
Old Jul 02, 2012, 12:01 AM
My cat moderates better
Australia, QLD, Worongary
Joined Apr 2011
554 Posts
A lot of people will give you different answers ...... Best try a free one first perhaps.
Then maybe Rhino ... ?
BillzillaAus is offline Find More Posts by BillzillaAus
Old Jul 02, 2012, 02:43 AM
Denver, CO
Joined Dec 2005
6,310 Posts
As far as what is best, thats a hard question to answer. The best is very expensive, so might not be the best for many. Some programs are great for certain types of projects, and fall short in many others. I have Bobcad V23, it is nice for most of the things I make, and it has Cam software integrated into it. It falls short in rendering nice images, and skins on very complex 3D shapes. Nice thing is most of the programs have free trials, to get an idea of what they can do. The problem is that it can take along time to really figure out what they are capable of. Many programs can surprise you at what they can do.
Roto Rob is online now Find More Posts by Roto Rob
Old Jul 02, 2012, 01:06 PM