New Products Flash Sale
Old Aug 18, 2008, 03:39 PM
Find More Posts by 1980lubaru
Southampton (UK)
Joined Aug 2008
23 Posts
Discussion
Century 750 yacht

Hello I'm new to the this site and the world of model sailing, I have just purchased the century 750 yacht. I completed construction no probs just need to modify mast joint as not lining up straight. I,m testing the water to see if any other owners out there have any tips or advice, and to see what they think of the yacht as a whole, many thanks lubaru1980.
1980lubaru is offline Find More Posts by 1980lubaru
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 18, 2008, 04:16 PM
Find More Posts by pompebled
Boaters are nice people.
Sneek, Netherlands.
Joined May 2004
5,554 Posts
Hi Lubaru,

Welcome to this forum!

From what I've read, the 750 seems to leak rather bad, so keep an eye on that.
Do a search on the Century and you'll find lots of facts and opinions.

Regards, Jan.
pompebled is offline Find More Posts by pompebled
Old Aug 19, 2008, 02:20 AM
A.J
Find More Posts by A.J
A.J
Junior User
W.A Australia
Joined Jul 2007
35 Posts
Hey Lubaru,

One of my mates has the Century 750. Here are some modifications I suggest you carry out to make a half decent sailor.

Firstly make/get some decent sails, the cut out cloth offcuts that come with the boat are junk.
Secondly the hatch leaks like a sieve. You will need to alter this to prevent your yacht from sinking. Waterproof all electrics with balloons, tape and whatever else you can get your hands on... this will prevent things going bang when they come into contact with water.
Thirdly depending on where you sail you may need more weight on the keel. If the most you will sail in is 10 knots then the current lead bulb should be O.K. but anything above 10 knots and the boat will struggle.
Eventually you will probably need to upgrade rigging and spars. (My mate snapped his mast in half the first time he used it in around 12-15 knots of wind.)