New Products Flash Sale
Old Aug 14, 2011, 08:08 PM
Find More Posts by GorillaSkull
Joined Jul 2011
47 Posts
Discussion
At full throttle engine shuts off!?!?

I was flying my HZ Supercub the other day at a park. I have 2 batteries, the stock HZ battery and a Parkzone battery.

Anyway first flight was with the ParkZone battery and I hand launched (grass is too tall) and as im climbing and reach full throttle the engine completely cuts out. When the Super cub glided down I picked it up and gave it a little throttle and it started up again. But once reaching full throttle it would short out again.

I repeated this many times to make sure it would run properly as long as it was not a full throttle and it worked fine, but as soon as the stick was all the way up the engine cut out without fail.

When using the other (hobbyzone) battery everything was fine and engine worked perfect even at full throttle.

I am new to this hobby and have no idea how this could have happened. Is this battery damaged? Defective? Dangerous to be in my home?
GorillaSkull is offline Find More Posts by GorillaSkull
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 14, 2011, 08:37 PM
Find More Posts by Rcflyyer1
United States, FL, Sarasota
Joined Dec 2010
363 Posts
well the battery certainly isn't dangerous in my opinion. My friend's hobbyzone champ had the same problem and he replaced the motor and it worked fine. i would call horizon or change your motor. How long ago did you buy it because the warranty could cover the cost of the new motor.
Rcflyyer1 is offline Find More Posts by Rcflyyer1
Old Aug 14, 2011, 08:42 PM
Joined Jul 2011
47 Posts
I bought it about a month or so ago. How could it be the engine if it only happens on 1 battery but not the other? If it was the engine wouldn't it cut out on both batteries?
Old Aug 14, 2011, 08:52 PM
Find More Posts by Dr Kiwi
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
Joined May 2003
27,208 Posts