Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Old Nov 17, 2015, 03:27 PM
Find More Posts by SeismicCWave
AMA 46133
Hawaii
Joined Feb 2003
6,564 Posts
Discussion
Slow flying profile fuselage Spitfire build. (Flight video included)

Well I wanted to make a Spitfire model that flies slow enough for my backyard. My friends gave me an idea to make something like the Ikarus "Shockie" from a long time ago. So I started to create a Depron foam profile fuselage Spitfire. I don't want a plank wing because I wanted to see how it would fly with a 2 degree washout. So it will be a built up foam wing.

I have been building and flying RC airplanes since 1968. I built quite a few balsa kits and some of my own scratch builds.

My CNC router can handle up to 12" X 18" so it will have the most a 36" wing span.

So a profile fuselage foam Spitfire started to take shape.

I am not good at working with foam. Never liked that stuff. I rather sniff balsa dust but I do have a pile of Depron. In Hawaii you pay paradise tax. One sheet of foam cost the same in shipping as a whole bunch. So when I order things for my hobby I order in bulk. I have a bunch of 3mm and 6mm foam sheets so that's what I will use.

Bought me some 6mm X 6mm square pultrude carbon tubes to stiffen the fuselage. The spar for the wing will be some round carbon tubes.

Building models to me is a continue process of fix-ups covering my screw-ups. I rarely can go from start to finish without messy up somewhere.

First it took me many tried to get the foam cut on my CNC router. Then when I tried to joined the wing panels together the spar tubes did not line up. Apparently I had a couple of different rib files and I used the cut sheets from the different files. Nevertheless , a friend told me to glass the center of the wing panels with 2 ounce glass to make the wing skins take the load of the spar. So more fix-ups.