Old Nov 19, 2011, 06:50 AM
Suspended Account
Rhode Island USA
Joined Aug 2010
5,350 Posts
Question
Some Helis fly like a plane?

Hi
I have been flying Helis on my Phoenix Simulator. I have an MCX and a CX3. I just sold a Blade 400 so I could get the Blade 450 soon. I am still a beginner with these. How come some Helis fly like a plane, I only need to use the elevator and aileron stick, and some (like my helis) need also the rudder to turn the nose into the direction of the turn.
Thanks
VP
Victory Pete is offline Find More Posts by Victory Pete
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 19, 2011, 09:02 AM
Hong Kong
Joined Jan 2010
6,244 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Victory Pete View Post
Hi
I have been flying Helis on my Phoenix Simulator. I have an MCX and a CX3. I just sold a Blade 400 so I could get the Blade 450 soon. I am still a beginner with these. How come some Helis fly like a plane, I only need to use the elevator and aileron stick, and some (like my helis) need also the rudder to turn the nose into the direction of the turn.
Thanks
VP
If your gyro is set on "heading hold" mode, you must use rudder to complete a turn. if your gyro is set on "rate more", then you can fly like a plane with elevator and aileron only. So it basically depends on your gyro setting which you can change.
zadaw is offline Find More Posts by zadaw
Old Nov 19, 2011, 09:05 AM
Suspended Account
Rhode Island USA
Joined Aug 2010
5,350 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by zadaw View Post
If your gyro is set on "heading hold" mode, you must use rudder to complete a turn. if your gyro is set on "rate more", then you can fly like a plane with elevator and aileron only. So it basically depends on your gyro setting which you can change.
Thanks for the reply, so it is tweakable for all helis? I am also wondering how to set up my DX8 so I can reverse the pitch of the rotors, I think I am ready for (intentional) inverted flight.
Thanks
VP