HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Nov 24, 2012, 07:21 AM
Marty M
Joined Nov 2012
5 Posts
Discussion
Great Planes P51 Mustang engine. Diesel?

Hi all.

I am new to IC engined planes so please bear this in mind when getting technical!
Basically I have just purchased a Great Planes P51 Mustang kit and very good it is too. As to the engine, the manual says either a .4 - .46 2-stroke or .5 - .7 4-stroke. Will someone please explain the pros and cons of 2-stroke vs 4-stroke? I have already noted that the former is somewhat cheaper to buy. What about a diesel in this plane? I plan to fly it in a 'scale' manner on a four blade prop for realism.
I think the current recommended engine for this kit is the OS 46AX II.

All comments gratefully received.

Mart.
martyn marrocco is offline Find More Posts by martyn marrocco
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 24, 2012, 07:40 AM
Complete RC Idiot Savant
The Netherlands
Joined Nov 2009
2,617 Posts
If you want to use a fourbladed prop, you only stand a chance when using a fourstroke, because most likely a 2 stroke cannot deliver the torque needed to spin that fourbladed prop, at the relatively low RPM it wants to be spun. But even with a fourstroke I doubt if it is possible.

But altogether, I think 4 bladed props are a bit too much asked for IC engines, you probably would have more succes with a geared electric if the 4-blade is a must.

If it was my choice, I would at all times choose a 4-stroke engine, just because the sound is better fitting to the character of the model.

Whether Diesel or glow, that is a choice. I would even go for spark ignition (since I discovered that, and how easy it actually is, that is for me the next best thing since the invention of sliced bread)

Brgds, Bert
Brutus1967 is offline Find More Posts by Brutus1967
Old Nov 24, 2012, 07:42 AM
United States, NY, Eldred
Joined Jun 2012
552 Posts