HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 14, 2011, 08:17 AM
United States, AL, Auburn
Joined Feb 2011
11 Posts
Discussion
Unionville Dehavilland Beaver - 8' Turbo

Hello Everyone,
I have ~5 years of flying experience, stick built the trainer I learned on, and a profile plane but aside for those I don't have much stick build experience.

The winter if fast approaching, and there is nothing taking up the building table. The problem is I have a Saito 100 that is sitting alone on the shelf with no airplane to keep it warm. So I've decided on the Unionville 8' Turbo Beaver as the next project. http://www.greathobbies.com/producti...rod_id=UVH010T

I have wanted a stable big plane for a more relaxed flying experience, plus I love the look of this airplane. So as an inexperienced builder I have some questions:

1. Is the Saito 100 going to fly this plane well? Its spec'd out for right in the middle of the range, but realistically will the plane hit those?
2. I haven't found very much information on this airplane with respect to build logs or setup tips. So i'm looking for setup tips? Can I use standard servos? Do I have to go high torque for ailerons or rudder?
3. I'm concerned that the manual will leave 'too' much to the imagination. I can build but with little experience there is probably going to be a better way to do it.
4. Although, I am pretty well stuck on this airplane does anyone have a better stick built kit airplane that would fit this engine and has about the same flying characteristics, but better instructions and support?

Thanks!

Mark
methanolmaniac is offline Find More Posts by methanolmaniac
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 14, 2011, 11:37 AM
Joined Jul 2004
2,582 Posts