Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jun 03, 2012, 08:22 AM
Registered User
jalves's Avatar
Portugal
Joined Mar 2004
2,634 Posts
The software has now evolved to alpha stage.

It is now a reliable Antenna Tracker, manage to increase the Tracker servo refresh frequency and it is now well tested.

Still, it has margin to progress, sometimes (rarely) the arduino do a reboot if the audio channel become very disrupted, don't know yet how to prevent this reboot. Bear in mind that this happen if the audio link is continuously disrupted for a long time.



Here it is the proof of the concept:
360DegreesAroundBase_AlfaVersion Demo (1 min 48 sec)

(Grips, this one was thought to answer to your remarks)

The major problem detected so far is the use the audio channel to carry the telemetry, this link is disrupted well before the video channel does, thus video telemetry is the next step for me.
jalves is offline Find More Posts by jalves
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 03, 2012, 08:53 AM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,621 Posts
How about adding a search routine based upon the signal strength of the Video as a backup?

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...ignal+strength
rimshotcopter is online now Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 03, 2012, 09:21 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2010
2,404 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jalves View Post
The major problem detected so far is the use the audio channel to carry the telemetry, this link is disrupted well before the video channel does, thus video telemetry is the next step for me.

Very cool, anxiously awaiting what results are you going to get with that route ...In the "groundstation arduino" will you use lm1881 also?
msev is offline Find More Posts by msev
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 03, 2012, 09:23 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2010
2,404 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rimshotcopter View Post
How about adding a search routine based upon the signal strength of the Video as a backup?

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...ignal+strength
These kind of arduino project is already present and code is available (its on a german webpage), if you want I can send you a link.

I'm more interested in Jalves's "video telemetry" route, because it is well proven in numerous projects. (incl. dakar+lynx)
msev is offline Find More Posts by msev
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 03, 2012, 09:24 AM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,621 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by msev View Post
These kind of arduino project is already present and code is available (its on a german webpage), if you want I can send you a link.
It would be NICE to incorporate the RSSI signal Strength tracking into this Antenna system IMO as a backup, when all else fails.
rimshotcopter is online now Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 03, 2012, 11:20 AM
Registered User
jalves's Avatar
Portugal
Joined Mar 2004
2,634 Posts
New Wiki page: HowToUse
jalves is offline Find More Posts by jalves
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 03, 2012, 11:31 AM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,621 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jalves View Post
New Wiki page: HowToUse
This is awesome, thank you.
rimshotcopter is online now Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 03, 2012, 11:41 AM
Registered User
jalves's Avatar
Portugal
Joined Mar 2004
2,634 Posts
Rims,

Did you check if your video Tx/Rx invert the audio signal?

I have here a 1.2GHz system that invert the signal, thus it is necessary to invert the signal before feeding it to the arduino in the ground.
jalves is offline Find More Posts by jalves
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 03, 2012, 11:44 AM
Registered User
jalves's Avatar
Portugal
Joined Mar 2004
2,634 Posts
I was writing the HowToUSe wiki when I thought that I could add a beeper that beep whenever a corrupted package arrive, and reserve the led only to the HOME definition.

After all the goggles don't let us to check the led...
jalves is offline Find More Posts by jalves
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 03, 2012, 11:48 AM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,621 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jalves View Post
I was writing the HowToUSe wiki when I thought that I could add a beeper that beep whenever a corrupted package arrive, and reserve the led only to the HOME definition.

After all the goggles don't let us to check the led...
That is a good idea in my opinion.
rimshotcopter is online now Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 03, 2012, 11:50 AM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,621 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jalves View Post
Rims,

Did you check if your video Tx/Rx invert the audio signal?

I have here a 1.2GHz system that invert the signal, thus it is necessary to invert the signal before feeding it to the arduino in the ground.
I have not tried it yet, still in the building process. Question, by chance, would you know where the RSSI signal is on this RX?

Thank you.
rimshotcopter is online now Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 03, 2012, 12:50 PM
The Fixer
Martin Y's Avatar
Canada, ON, Milton
Joined Jan 2009
3,621 Posts
You would have to take the module out, read the number on the back then find it on the internet to get the pin out diagram. Then make a buffer for the rssi or you will load the rx down.
Martin Y is offline Find More Posts by Martin Y
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Flyfly Fox Glider
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 03, 2012, 12:53 PM
Registered User
jalves's Avatar
Portugal
Joined Mar 2004
2,634 Posts
nope...
jalves is offline Find More Posts by jalves
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 03, 2012, 12:53 PM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,621 Posts
Thank you Martin, I put the cover back on but it is coming off again.

I actually have a buffer ready.
rimshotcopter is online now Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 03, 2012, 01:01 PM
throw new IOPilotException();
IceWind's Avatar
Ireland, County Dublin, Dublin
Joined Feb 2005
2,613 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rimshotcopter View Post
I have not tried it yet, still in the building process. Question, by chance, would you know where the RSSI signal is on this RX?

Thank you.
If that tuner is the same as mine, it has no RSSI pin and you'll need to solder it.
I'll see if I can find a photo I took when I did that to mine.
IceWind is offline Find More Posts by IceWind
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! LRS/UHF/XPS for Aurora 9, and 1.3ghz Antenna Tracker. Eagleeyes or Skylark? daign FPV Talk 2 May 17, 2012 03:36 PM
Sold 360 Servo for (Antenna Tracker or PAN).....NEW crd FPV Equipment (FS/W) 1 Apr 15, 2012 05:39 PM
Sold RVGS Antenna Tracker scrape FPV Equipment (FS/W) 0 Mar 31, 2012 11:18 PM
Sold Antenna Pan/Tilt for Antenna Tracker w/ MG Servos imagebuff FPV Equipment (FS/W) 1 Mar 20, 2012 02:26 AM
Sold Servo City Heavy Duty Pan / Tilt for antenna tracker w EZ Antenna Tracker thefokker FPV Equipment (FS/W) 4 Sep 08, 2011 07:53 AM