Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Sep 10, 2012, 01:48 PM
The New Guy
Joined Aug 2012
61 Posts
Discussion
Electric or glow power a newbie would like your opinion.

Greetings fellow pilots,

I have already invested in a Real flight Simulator, a Super Cub and a PZ p-51 Mustang (which has yet to see flight). I am going to make another investment for a trainer and after the trainer plane. Foamees are not very popular at my flying field that I go to. I did want to stay with electric however I am open minded. Can you please tell me the pros and cons for going electric or going glow power? I feel it may be economically wise to make a choice up front because of the investment in batteries or glow related items (I am still a newbie so I dont know all the items)

Thanks
Robert
rbgordon is offline Find More Posts by rbgordon
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 10, 2012, 02:20 PM
Joined Sep 2008
673 Posts
Well, you are posting in the electric forum, so everyone is going to tell you to go electric.

For smaller size planes, there is no reason to go with glow. Glow is noisy, messy, takes longer at the field to get the engine tuned.

In my opinion, the only reason to go with liquid fuel nowadays is if you want to go with a really big plane. When you start talking motors > .60 size, the batteries start to get way expensive.
aurorae is offline Find More Posts by aurorae
Old Sep 10, 2012, 02:26 PM
Redacted per NSA "suggestion"
United States, VA, Virginia Beach
Joined Feb 2012
5,416 Posts
Glow is messy, fuel is around $16 a gallon, using an 8 ounce tank you can get 16 flights from a gallon of fuel. I could go through that in a weekend. After each flight you will have to clean your entire plane, glow residue will eventually destroy your plane. You have to tweak the motor prior to every flight. It's noisy, you will be limited to where you can fly.