HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 27, 2013, 04:28 PM
Joined Sep 2013
3 Posts
Help!
RC control

Ok, I am a complete novice when it comes to RC anything. I need some help!

I have a CopterX CX-CT6B and a CopterX CX-CR6B that I want to use to control my motorized Pan/Tilt Dolly that I built with parts from ServoCity.com.

The Motorized Pan/Tilt is basically just 3 12 volt motors.

I want to use the CopterX RC transmitter/Receiver to control three of these Precision digital speed controllers, that hook up to the three 12v motors.

Eventually I would like to do some kind of control servos/motors for focus an iris control as well. but that is not in this first build.

Anyway, What will I need to make these things work? I will have to have a 12v battery to run the motors, what about powering the Receiver? Will I be able to just hook up the Motor controllers to the receiver? anything else I am missing?

Thanks!
StudioEnFuego is offline Find More Posts by StudioEnFuego
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 27, 2013, 07:52 PM
USA, WA
Joined Jan 2011
132 Posts
your receiver will be powered through the BEC off the speed controller. You really only need one of the "red" wires (from the 3 pin terminals) to be hooked up to power the receiver (of the 3 speed controllers), but it should be ok to leave all 3 into the receiver. Some people remove the other power wires from multiple ESC's to prevent issues with sensitive controller systems like on flight control board of multirotors etc. If you are powering all 3 motors/speed controllers from 1 battery pack, just make a 3 way harness off of the main battery line to each speed controller. For those motors you will need to either solder wires onto the tabs on the end, or get some small clips to plug on, as the connector for the motor wires coming off of the speed controller will likely not fit onto the motor tabs. The correct connector to plug into the speed controller wires would also be needed.

have fun