HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Sep 10, 2006, 10:31 PM
Registered User
Joined May 2006
24 Posts
Discussion
Spinner separated from motor shaft

My spinner (taking the folding prop with it) separated from the motor shaft on my last flight (must have come loose and just spun off during a climb -- not to be found in the field).

I'm curious, what do you guys suggest for checking the tightness of the spinner to the motor shaft? Do you check it or torque it down often?

What brand do you guys suggest? I see Esprit Models web site shows a BB Aluminum Spinner for folding props that allows the system to be tightened with an alan screw from the tip of the nose cone (thus not having to remove the cone). Does anyone have experience with this setup?

I have a 10 ft wing span and used a 16x8 prop. My set up would allow me to climb at 70-80 degrees up.

Thanks!
Jeff
JJSHou is offline Find More Posts by JJSHou
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 11, 2006, 03:45 AM
Registered User
Hervey Bay, Sunny Qld, Australia
Joined Jun 2001
1,773 Posts
Use a semi permanent loctite on the shaft (NOT permanent loctite cause you don't want to have to heat up the shaft to remove it later)
Masterpiece is offline Find More Posts by Masterpiece
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2006, 04:03 AM
Electric Airplane Junkie
bhchan's Avatar
San Mateo, Ca , USA
Joined Jun 2000
5,595 Posts
Are you using a collet system or set screw?

Brian, an EAJ
bhchan is offline Find More Posts by bhchan
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2006, 07:56 AM
Registered User
rockville maryland
Joined Aug 2000
309 Posts
i use RFM spinners from soaring USA. a bit pricey, but cheap when you consider the loss of a folding prop. i gave up on collets and lock tite.
only use the set screw on one side and tighten on the flat. if the shaft does not have a flat, grind one. never lost any thing since i switched. i gleened thi info from an avid F5B(BLOW TOURCH} flyer. ken
ken troxell is offline Find More Posts by ken troxell
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2006, 03:00 PM
Registered User
Tuomo's Avatar
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Joined Aug 2003
2,431 Posts
RFM requires the flat to be filed on shaft. No allways very nice...

Graupner Precision spinners are safe to about 1kW even with large propellers and hard break. Clean shaft with acetone, before installing spinner.
Tuomo is offline Find More Posts by Tuomo
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2006, 06:12 PM
Electric Airplane Junkie
bhchan's Avatar
San Mateo, Ca , USA
Joined Jun 2000
5,595 Posts
1kW is low power nowaday.......

most 10 cells machines will get there without any trouble. I have a Graupner collet spinner creeping forward with 1600W. I cleaned the spinner/shaft and use loctite on it and it is ok now.

Brian, an EAJ
bhchan is offline Find More Posts by bhchan
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2006, 04:42 PM
flight999
England
Joined Dec 2002
2,344 Posts
I use HM system hubs and spinners since which I have not experienced
the loss of a prop/hub/spinner. You do need a flat though to be sure.
flight999 is offline Find More Posts by flight999
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pinion Removal From Motor Shaft? Buzz_Man Power Systems 2 Jun 01, 2005 05:29 PM
30mm spinner with 2mm motor shaft soulys High Performance 4 Apr 01, 2005 04:44 PM
removing brass gear from motor shaft ryan d. Parkflyers 6 Apr 11, 2002 10:08 AM
Question Removing gear from 280 motor shaft dadspet Parkflyers 2 Apr 11, 2002 09:00 AM
How do I remove the brass pinion from the motor shaft on my SS? RollTide69 Foamies (Kits) 3 Dec 31, 2001 02:43 PM