HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 26, 2012, 05:51 PM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2007
337 Posts
Discussion
Broken switches on my A9...

One of my A9s got dropped down the carpeted stairs. Everything is fine except that the stems snapped off of 3 switches.

Where can i get some replacement switches ?
gyrokiteguy is offline Find More Posts by gyrokiteguy
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 26, 2012, 06:00 PM
Air, Ground & Water
freechip's Avatar
Canada, ON, Rockland
Joined Aug 2008
24,608 Posts
Radio Shack or similar or any electronic shop. Some radios have the switch soldered directly on a small PCB but most have them simply wired.

All you need is a 2P2T.
freechip is online now Find More Posts by freechip
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2012, 06:36 PM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2002
5,811 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by gyrokiteguy View Post
One of my A9s got dropped down the carpeted stairs. Everything is fine except that the stems snapped off of 3 switches. Where can i get some replacement switches ?
Direct phone/email to:
Hitec Warranty & Service
Note: Hitec USA only services North/South America and Canada.
All other countries see appropriate distributor for service.
If you are from a country that is outside North and South America, please contact the
Hitec distributor in your country for service.


Alan T.
Alan's Hobby, Model & RC FAQ Web Links
A.T. is offline Find More Posts by A.T.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2012, 07:13 PM
Registered User
Australia, SA, Adelaide
Joined Sep 2007
641 Posts
That seems to be a bit of a common problem . I know when you drop your tx all bets are off and you cant realy blame the radio but I wonder if other brands switches are a bit stronger . Cheers the pope
the pope is online now Find More Posts by the pope
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2012, 07:58 PM
Inciting Riots
village_idiot's Avatar
Joined Dec 2006
9,688 Posts
Pretty sure they all break when you drop them. Rocker type switches might be the only type that might survive due to the smaller level arm. Push buttons are usually very weak because they have a small center shaft.
village_idiot is offline Find More Posts by village_idiot
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2012, 08:03 PM
Registered User
Australia, SA, Adelaide
Joined Sep 2007
641 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by village_idiot View Post
Pretty sure they all break when you drop them. Rocker type switches might be the only type that might survive due to the smaller level arm. Push buttons are usually very weak because they have a small center shaft.
I added the all bets are off because its not the radios fault but I know of 3 people that have broken switches and in 7 yrs of doing this I havent heard of anybody else doing this with other brands . Cheers the pope
the pope is online now Find More Posts by the pope
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2012, 08:37 PM
Inciting Riots
village_idiot's Avatar
Joined Dec 2006
9,688 Posts
I've helped several people with broken switches on Futaba 9C radios, and not always from a drop. Switches also stop functioning, again not always from a drop.
village_idiot is offline Find More Posts by village_idiot
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2012, 09:06 PM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2002
5,811 Posts
Hitec - Switch Part Numbers - Replace Broken Switches.

Quote:
Originally Posted by the pope View Post
I added the all bets are off because its not the radios fault but I know of 3 people that have broken switches and in 7 yrs of doing this I havent heard of anybody else doing this with other brands . Cheers the pope
A very common problem, near the top of reasons for all known brands of Tx, referred here.
"I havent heard of anybody else doing this with other brands "
Simply some appear more readily on retail shelves and web searches e,.g.
http://www.futaba-rc.com/parts/futm3676.html

Hitec switches readily available here and in some other countries, part numbers:
59003 3 Position Switch (Long Lever)
59004 2 Position Switch (Short Lever)
59005 Trainer Switch 9005
59006 2 Position Switch (Long Lever) - Eclipse
59007 3 Position Switch (Short Lever)
59008 Toggle Switch MS-550 C-L
ECLDRSW Eclipse Dual rate switch
ECLFLTSW Eclipse Flight Mode Switch
ECLRUDSW Eclipse Rudder Dual Rate Switch
54303 Trainer Plug & switch Accessory for Neon SS FM
54304 CH 1 & 2 Dual rate switch for Neon SS FM (Must Use #54302 ATV BOARD)

Aurora 9 Switches: (First digit may vary from country to country)
70017 "Toggle Switch 2-Position (Long)" SW-B / SW-F
70018 "Toggle Switch 2-Position (Short)" SW-A / SW-D / SW-G
70019 "Toggle Switch Trainer (Long)" SW-H
70020 "Toggle Switch 3-Position (Long)" SW-C
70021 "Toggle Switch 3-Position (Short)" SW-E

Alan T.
Alan's Hobby, Model & RC FAQ Web Links
A.T. is offline Find More Posts by A.T.
Last edited by A.T.; Nov 29, 2012 at 03:28 AM. Reason: add Title
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2012, 01:08 PM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2007
337 Posts
Thanks for the replies !

I broke switches A, F and H.

Switch A is 2 position, short lever. 9004 ?

Switch F is 2 position, long lever. 9006 ?

Switch H is 2 position, long lever, momentary. Trainer switch ? 9005 ?

Do I have this all correct ?

Thanks
gyrokiteguy is offline Find More Posts by gyrokiteguy
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2012, 01:48 PM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2002
5,811 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by gyrokiteguy View Post
Thanks for the replies !
I broke switches A, F and H.
Switch A is 2 position, short lever. 9004 ?
Switch F is 2 position, long lever. 9006 ?
Switch H is 2 position, long lever, momentary. Trainer switch ? 9005 ?
Do I have this all correct ? Thanks
Your profile does not disclose country origin so yes and no.
If in USA, refer to previous post #3 and quote Aurora switch A, B, C etc
together with description.

This because each distributor or retailer may have their own prefix/suffix or numbering system
e.g.
. Hitec RCD factory item numbers Ace Hobby NZ (any five digit numbers are less first digit listing displayed).
. Hitec 2 Position Switch (short Lever) at WattsUP NZ has their own prefix.
. Hitec Neon Channel 1 & 2 Dual Rate Tower Hobbies use their own numbering system.
Manufacturer's number not always disclosed by Tower, as in this case.

Alan T.
A.T. is offline Find More Posts by A.T.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2012, 02:19 PM
Registered User
seefest's Avatar
United States, MA, Bristol
Joined Sep 2009
1,561 Posts
Broken switches are VERY common on all brands. Some of the Spektrum switches break just from normal use.
seefest is offline Find More Posts by seefest
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! Please help me identify the broken part on my S107 S107G Micro Helis 8 Dec 23, 2011 01:48 PM
Discussion My toggle switches broke off my DX5 Capt Buddy Beginner Training Area (Aircraft-Electric) 5 Nov 08, 2011 10:21 AM
Question Broken on arrival broken double Horse 9100 RPelletier Coaxial Helicopters 2 May 22, 2011 05:30 PM
Alert My first failure with my A9 [I'M DONE!] maarset Hitec/Multiplex USA 25 Sep 17, 2010 06:01 PM
Discussion Broken Toggle switches on Futaba T8UAP richard donell Radios 2 Sep 25, 2006 02:39 PM