HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Nov 25, 2013, 10:21 AM
Joined Nov 2013
5 Posts
Question
What sailplane to get?

Hi everyone i'm just getting into sail planes and am after a decent electric sailplane but i haven't a clue where to start. I was looking at the skip miller models Speedo PNP Electric 1.2m but there doesn't seems to be many videos or many reviews of it. So can anyone point me in the right direction?.
R055Y is offline Find More Posts by R055Y
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 25, 2013, 10:57 AM
Thermal Junkie
Joined Sep 2008
3,358 Posts
Not stating your budget, I put up some links to vendors who have e-sailplanes and excellent reputations and have good flying birds. Pick one you like, it's not easy choosing just one.

http://www.espritmodel.com/f5j-alesl...ailplanes.aspx

http://www.soaringusa.com/F5J-LMR-ALES-Electrics/

http://www.icare-rc.com/power_glider.htm

http://www.arthobby.com/#

http://www.kennedycomposites.com/index.html

http://www.skipmillermodels.com/Electric_s/6.htm

http://www.skybench.com/index.html?h....com/home.html
Leadchucker is offline Find More Posts by Leadchucker
RCG Plus Member
Old Nov 25, 2013, 11:07 AM
WAA-08 THANK FRANK!
Las Cruces, New Mexico, United States
Joined Jun 2002
7,081 Posts
As is all models, bigger flies better. The 1.2 meter you are looking for is a slope glider, really. Not having a slope around, then you use the eletric version. The DLG gliders are in a 1.5m size and weigh around 6-9 oz. Those are hand launched. I would not want to go any smaller wingspan than 1.5 for eletric gliders. I am intersted in thermal flight - if you are after slope type flight - then you may be able to go with a smaller wing.

Usually 2m is about the general span recommended for starter gliders. That is a good mix in visibility, equipment size and capabilities.
JimNM is offline Find More Posts by JimNM
Old Nov 25, 2013, 11:38 AM
Joined Nov 2013
5 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leadchucker View Post