HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jun 26, 2002, 09:47 PM
Registered User
Kevin Morris's Avatar
USA, CA, San Anselmo
Joined May 2002
55 Posts
Wattage Extra 330

I just flew my Extra 330l last weekend and was not impressed with the stock set-up. I created a 10 cell 600AE battery pack and the performance was slightly better. I was wondering if anybody knows if adding a Jeti 15-3 Brushless and a 10 cell 600AE set-up will work. I also have a cp 1300 8 cell pack I am willing to try, but my experience in electrics is still a bit on the novice side. I am an experienced RC pilot. By the way what is a mega 22/10/6 mean.

Wattage Extra 330
The Extra with the stock setup weighs in at 23 ounces empty weight. With the addition of a 10 cell 600AE pack it weighs in at 31 ounces. The cp1300 batteries would add an additional weight of 12 ounces for a total gross weight of 35 ounces.

My plan is to remove the Jeti 15-3 brushless motor from my very successful Miss2 xcam plane ( which has photographed the Golden Gate bridge with help from Neil Morse) and install the same setup in the Extra with a 7x 4 prop direct drive. This was Steve Horneys recommendation to me for the Miss2. I will report my findings.

Does anyone know if this set-up will work?


Kevin
Kevin Morris is offline Find More Posts by Kevin Morris
Last edited by Kevin Morris; Jun 27, 2002 at 11:32 AM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 26, 2002, 09:51 PM
Registered User
d12bn's Avatar
louisiana
Joined Dec 2001
379 Posts
weght

Kevin what does it weigh , I'm wanting to get the Wattage 232 . I'm wanting to use my Hacker b20 .
d12bn is offline Find More Posts by d12bn
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2002, 11:17 PM
Tork it or Dork it
Ryan Nau's Avatar
Elizabethville,PA USA
Joined Jul 2000
2,198 Posts
I have a wattage Extra 330L (my second one) with the stock setup. It flies great with the geared 480 and 10x600ae. Plenty of power and pulls it through its areobatics real nice. I also use a 10x1300CP in mine for longer flight times but landing are fast and "hot". I'm sure the 15/3 or 15/4 would work real well in the 330L. But I don't think you will be able to use your 600ae cells, but the 1300CP should work well. I have a Wattage Giles 202 on backorder which comes with the Colbalt 400. That would fly these wattage planes well too!
Ryan Nau is offline Find More Posts by Ryan Nau
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2002, 07:58 AM
Registered User
Bucks Co, PA
Joined Feb 2002
264 Posts
Ryan:

How long can you fly on the 10x600AE pack? I just put my Extra in the air Monday for it's maiden flights with the Wattage 10x100 NiMH packs, but it seems heavy. I quick put together a 8x600AE pack, which I hope to try tonight.

Bob
RSCherry is offline Find More Posts by RSCherry
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2002, 08:08 AM
Registered User
Bucks Co, PA
Joined Feb 2002
264 Posts
Ryan:

How long can you fly on the 10x600AE pack? I just put my Extra in the air Monday for it's maiden flights with the Wattage 10x100 NiMH packs, but it seems heavy. I quick put together a 8x600AE pack, which I hope to try tonight.

Bob
RSCherry is offline Find More Posts by RSCherry
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2002, 09:31 AM
Stupid gravity!
docphi's Avatar
Trinity, FL
Joined Jul 1999
1,514 Posts
I'm using an Astro 020 with gearbox. With the new 8x1700 AUP NiMH cells, I get 10 minutes of aerobatics. Nice vertical!
docphi is offline Find More Posts by docphi
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2002, 10:07 AM
Registered Snoozer
Neil Morse's Avatar
San Francisco, CA, USA
Joined Jul 1999
6,094 Posts
Kevin:

Welcome to the E Zone! Your decision to get involved in the discussion forums on your own is particularly welcomed by your flying buddies who have been asked in the past to find you the answers for various questions.

You can learn about Mega motors here:

http://www.megamotorusa.com/

Neil
Neil Morse is offline Find More Posts by Neil Morse
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2002, 10:28 AM
Making Cuisinarts Fly!!!!
Richardson, Texas
Joined Dec 2001
298 Posts
Look in the open discussion area for the "throw away your 400 can motors" thread. There is more info about the mega line than you can shake a stick at.

I have a W. extra 300 and was also unimpressed with the stock setup on eight cells.

I put a 4014 cobalt geared in it and was still unimpressed. I got a 10 cell cp1300 pack and put the stock motor back in it. I hope to try it this weekend. If it doesn't fly with authority I am looking at putting a mega 16/15/x in it. Not sure on the turns yet. I'll have to look at it again before I buy.
RCAddict is offline Find More Posts by RCAddict
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2002, 11:27 AM
Registered User
Kevin Morris's Avatar
USA, CA, San Anselmo
Joined May 2002
55 Posts
Wattage Extra 330

Wattage Extra 330
The Extra with the stock setup weighs in at 23 ounces empty weight. With the addition of a 10 cell 600AE pack it weighs in at 31 ounces. The cp1300 batteries would add an additional weight of 12 ounces for a total gross weight of 35 ounces.

My plan is to remove the Jeti 15-3 brushless motor from my very successful Miss2 xcam plane ( which has photographed the Golden Gate bridge with help from Neil Morse) and install the same setup in the Extra with a 7x 4 prop. This was Steve Horneys recommendation for the Miss2. I will report my findings.

Does anyone know if this set-up will work?


Kevin


Kevin Morris is offline Find More Posts by Kevin Morris
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2002, 07:01 PM
Registered User
ToddNicholson's Avatar
Anacortes, Wa. USA
Joined Aug 2000
290 Posts
Four identical posts at 11:59 on the 26, then at 8:28, 9:20 and 9:27 on the 27th and still no answer.

I wonder why

-Todd
ToddNicholson is offline Find More Posts by ToddNicholson
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2002, 09:17 PM
RC-Nut-Job!
Lv2Fly's Avatar
New York
Joined Jul 2001
970 Posts
My .2 cents

Will your 15/3 work in your Extra-330-L
In my opinion it's way to heavy and to much tork, and just plain to much. (go with mega Brushless, either 16/15/7or 16/15/8.. I have the 16/15/4 in mine now and it woohoo fast and furious! All run direct drive in my wattage Extra 330-L

I'm dropping it down to the 16/15/6, I think that will be the power I'm looking for.

Also, I should have mentioned you should have posted this message in the "thread already full of valuable info regarding the Wattage 330-L and possible power plants. But hey who am I to tell anyone anything.

James Lv2Fly
Lv2Fly is offline Find More Posts by Lv2Fly
Last edited by Lv2Fly; Jun 27, 2002 at 09:21 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2002, 03:22 PM
Registered User
San Diego, Ca.
Joined Jul 2002
16 Posts
Kevin, I know of one flyer who opted for the 15/4 over the 15/3. He said the 15/3 was not torqie? enough. Terry
rc88man is offline Find More Posts by rc88man
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone Flying the Wattage Extra 330? Ryan Nau Sport Planes 67 Apr 01, 2011 08:47 AM
Need battery advice - Wattage Extra 330 Sam the man Sport Planes 4 Jun 29, 2002 10:39 PM
First Brushless Sport - Wattage Extra 330? azflyer Sport Planes 11 Mar 14, 2002 04:51 PM
Wattage Extra 330 gearbox Ryan Nau Sport Planes 7 Feb 28, 2002 01:32 PM
WattAge Extra 330 L rcnut65 Sport Planes 15 Jul 18, 2001 06:58 PM