HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Mar 29, 2012, 05:19 AM
always looking for clouds
socommk23's Avatar
Joined Aug 2010
422 Posts
Discussion
trouble binding

last night i used my spare 8000 reciever in my brothers glider.
as there is limited space i decided to unplug the satelite part.

no matter what i done....it would not bind full stop........unless the satelite was plugged in!

why?

my 6 channel reciever in my stryker works fine to over 3500ft without the satelite plugged in.

so why the problems with the 8?
socommk23 is offline Find More Posts by socommk23
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 29, 2012, 05:51 AM
Air, Ground & Water
freechip's Avatar
Canada, ON, Rockland
Joined Aug 2008
23,640 Posts
Some require the sat to be connected. They are designed that in the event something was to happend to the cable and or sat the main unit would still function but at the same time it will not start unless it see the sat warning you of a problem.

If space is an issue the AR600 is a great choice to use.
freechip is online now Find More Posts by freechip
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2012, 07:28 AM
59 years of RC flying
Daedalus66's Avatar
Canada, ON, Ottawa
Joined Feb 2006
16,171 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by socommk23 View Post
lmy 6 channel reciever in my stryker works fine to over 3500ft without the satelite plugged in.

so why the problems with the 8?
It's not a "problem" it's a deliberate design feature to make sure you use the satellite receiver. Without it, you lose signal diversity and the receiver becomes more prone to signal loss due to blocking. This is not primarily an issue of absolute range but of reliability, so your experience of long range operation without the satellite doesn't change things.

The reason Spektrum does this is obvious and sensible. The AR8000 is their flagship receiver and must be as reliable as possible for use in all types of models. Operating it without the satellite would reduce it to the level of a "park flyer" receiver and lead to improper use and failures that tarnish its reputation.

If you want a compact "full range" receiver, use the AR600, as Freechip says. It achieves the necessary diversity through use of two well separated antennas.
Daedalus66 is online now Find More Posts by Daedalus66
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2012, 07:32 AM
Registered User
richard hanson's Avatar
United States, UT, Salt Lake City
Joined Oct 2007
6,767 Posts
How come---
as the state of the art in technical devices increases as a squared function--
The problems in using them increases by a cubed function.
I jes cain't figger it out .
richard hanson is online now Find More Posts by richard hanson
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2012, 07:39 AM
always looking for clouds
socommk23's Avatar
Joined Aug 2010
422 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by richard hanson View Post
How come---
as the state of the art in technical devices increases as a squared function--
The problems in using them increases by a cubed function.
I jes cain't figger it out .
what he said!

cheers guys.
socommk23 is offline Find More Posts by socommk23
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Is it worth the trouble to flash my rctimer esc? windfou Hoverfly Technologies 0 Feb 22, 2012 10:40 PM
Discussion trouble binding a cox extra 300 airjumper Micro Ready-to-Fly 3 Jan 08, 2012 11:42 PM
Question loss of bind after binding another rx robertc Radios 12 Sep 23, 2011 10:44 PM
Discussion Aurora 9 Optima 6 binding trouble Dylonius Hitec/Multiplex USA 3 Sep 22, 2011 09:03 PM
Bind bind bind hb888 Micro Helis 6 Aug 29, 2005 06:40 AM