HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Feb 27, 2015, 04:40 AM
Joined Feb 2015
8 Posts
Discussion
Budget FPV build - please help!

Hey guys. I've been flying for about four months now and I'd like to get into FPV. I don't have a lot of cash so I've come up with a budget build.

I'm trying to keep the cost as close to $200- $300 as possible. Long term I'd like to add a proper autopilot with GPS waypoints and return home capability, but for the mean time I'm happy with goggles and a simple OSD showing RSSI and Voltage. I'll be flying fairly short range, <1km.

So heres what I had in mind. Bear in mind that I'm in Australia so shipping costs can be quite expensive. Hobbyking has an Australia warehouse so most of my order is from there.
  • Bixler 2 - $70
  • Turnigy Motor - $12.5
  • ESC 40A blueseries - $25
  • 6 cheap ebay servos - $12
  • 3S 2200mah - $13
  • Runcam PZ0420H - $38
  • Boscam 200mw tx/rx TS351 + RC805 - $48
  • frsky D8-II plus - $38
  • Quanum DIY FPV goggles - $38
  • Hobbyking E-OSD - $18
  • Shipping $30
  • Antennas, extra batteries etc

What do you guys think? I've already got the 9XR + frsky module. Anywhere I can save money? Is the Bixler 2 a good choice?
lipro is offline Find More Posts by lipro
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 27, 2015, 05:40 AM
FPV Proximity is FUN!
Australia, WA, York
Joined May 2012
1,828 Posts
The E-osd doesn't display RSSI, but fine for short range stuff. Looks pretty good! Check out the hobbyking DIY goggs thread to see some nice resolution mods and lens mods.

-Ben
fOaMmaSh87 is offline Find More Posts by fOaMmaSh87
Old Feb 27, 2015, 08:25 AM
Joined Feb 2015
8 Posts
Stock it doesn't but the HK E-OSD has two voltage inputs and can be flashed to read one as RSSI.
http://blog.oscarliang.net/e-osd-fla...-using-arduin/

It can't read PWM signals so a circuit has to be built to convert it to a continous voltage.