HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Feb 20, 2015, 09:47 PM
Joined Aug 2012
22 Posts
Discussion
Recovering hinge area

I'm new to RC and want to recover my ARF. Don't like the color. How do handle the hinge areas? Do I cut off the hinges and start over? Or do I use a tool to get the covering down into the crack of the control surface?

The videos on Youtube all show people covering planes that don't have control surfaces attached which makes me curious.

Thanks in advance...
Rockinar is offline Find More Posts by Rockinar
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 20, 2015, 10:20 PM
No bounce, No play.
Canada, ON, Ottawa
Joined Oct 2010
4,013 Posts
As long as you have a bit of space to deal with some irons will get into pretty small gaps. Ripping hinges out could make quite a mess.

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...P?I=LXB365&P=8
davidmc36 is online now Find More Posts by davidmc36
Old Feb 21, 2015, 02:49 AM
Joined Aug 2012
22 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidmc36 View Post
As long as you have a bit of space to deal with some irons will get into pretty small gaps. Ripping hinges out could make quite a mess.

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...P?I=LXB365&P=8
Yeah, that looks to be the route I will go. Messing with the hinges seems to be more of a project than I'm interested in right now. I was just not sure how most people did it.
Rockinar is offline Find More Posts by Rockinar
Old Feb 21, 2015, 09:43 AM
United States, NJ, Woodstown
Joined Sep 2011
169 Posts
if you have CA or nylon hinges, it's easier to do a better job of covering if you cut off the hinges. In my opinion, it also saves a decent amount of time since you don't have to fiddle around in cramped areas with a hot iron and worry about sticking the covering together.

Just re-slot adjacent to the old hinges for the new hinges and you'll be good as new.

Good luck...
valkrider is online now Find More Posts by valkrider
RCG Plus Member
Old Feb 21, 2015, 09:57 AM