HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 13, 2012, 10:41 PM
I ask a lot of questions.
Canada, AB, Airdrie
Joined Aug 2012
211 Posts
Question
Battery assortment for foamies

I am just getting into building foamies (The one-sheeters and "5 Easy pieces" type) and have already downloaded several plans. since i have to order batteries to suit different builds, is there a basic list of common batteries for foamies? I was thinking of a few 3s and 4s batts, but not sure of what mAh sizes are best for these type of planes.

I would like to order several batteries at once from HK instead of ordering piece-meal and always waiting for the slow boat from china to make a delivery.
Disco Stew is offline Find More Posts by Disco Stew
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 13, 2012, 10:55 PM
Fremont, CA
United States, CA, Fremont
Joined Jan 2009
1,742 Posts
The most popular types IMHO are:
1300 and 2200 mAH both 3S and 4S. Also 850 to 1000mAH in 2S.
I always get second to the lowest discharge rate ( 20C or 25C).
djacob7 is offline Find More Posts by djacob7
Old Oct 13, 2012, 11:03 PM
treefinder
SE MI
Joined Oct 2004
9,949 Posts
All the one sheeters fly with 2s 850-900mah packs. With the 1700kv blue wonder motor and a 7x6 sf prop, they are plenty spritely. I find that I use these batteries for a lot of planes, including the combat wings (f&f type) and the ww2 combat ones. They are cheap and last a couple years of several times a week cycling. I like Gens Ace from hobby partz and the Nanotech from HobbyKing. I have 8 that I use every week between combat and just flying out back, and a couple of old tired ones that I use when i just want to float around for a few minutes.

I also have several 3s packs in the 1K to 1300mah sizes. I fly the faster racer types like the PV2, Mike, Quicksilver, Mooney and my 42" blubabies with them.

The largest packs I currently have are two 1550mah 3s GensAce. Those are used for the superTwin, Quicksilver and once in a while a BluBaby.