HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Aug 19, 2012, 04:22 PM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2008
131 Posts
I'm in the understanding that the higher the volts the cooler all should run???? If I go to 12 cells a 560kv motor should run cool and smooth with a 120amp esc, no? Im going to use the stock align main gear. I'm looking for 10 min flights so i can hover around the block from the roof of my house. Lol.

Jan, how long did it take to get ur apache fuse from smart models? I'm in the states, so I'm sure it is different then your time, just curious.

Horseman, is your apache from smart models as well?
buddertoast is offline Find More Posts by buddertoast
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 19, 2012, 04:59 PM
Registered User
Horseman's Avatar
The Netherlands, FR
Joined Aug 2008
626 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by buddertoast View Post
I'm in the understanding that the higher the volts the cooler all should run???? If I go to 12 cells a 560kv motor should run cool and smooth with a 120amp esc, no? Im going to use the stock align main gear. I'm looking for 10 min flights so i can hover around the block from the roof of my house. Lol.

Jan, how long did it take to get ur apache fuse from smart models? I'm in the states, so I'm sure it is different then your time, just curious.

Horseman, is your apache from smart models as well?
Hi Buddy,

How higher the voltage how lower the current so the heat will be cooler, that the long yes.

Shipping the apache it took less then two weeks
And indeed its a Apache from SmartModels.

Regards,

Jan,
Horseman is offline Find More Posts by Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2012, 05:50 PM
Registered User
josereyes's Avatar
United States, WA, Steilacoom
Joined Nov 2011
162 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by buddertoast View Post
I'm in the understanding that the higher the volts the cooler all should run???? If I go to 12 cells a 560kv motor should run cool and smooth with a 120amp esc, no? Im going to use the stock align main gear. I'm looking for 10 min flights so i can hover around the block from the roof of my house. Lol.

Jan, how long did it take to get ur apache fuse from smart models? I'm in the states, so I'm sure it is different then your time, just curious.

Horseman, is your apache from smart models as well?
That would depend on what head speed you are looking for... as you lower the head speed, if the motor is too high of kv, that would mean that you would have to lower your pinion to achieve the head speed desired and esc throttle curve and your motor efficiency, this creates heat... the motor should run at the desired head speed and efficiency of 90 % or better... as it goes below that efficiency it start creating heat on the motor and esc. That's what's causing all these fires on the ESC's, if you don't monitor the heat it will eventually catch on fire. In my case the motor kv was too high (560kv) for the head speed I was looking (1400's), so it was creating excessive heat for the ESC and motor causing it to overheat. Going to the lower kv (500kv) took care of the heat issues on the motor and ESC now it runs at 90% or higher efficiency and a temp of about 25 35 degrees above ambient temp, which is what you want for long term flights... 14-20 minutes easy...

You will need to monitor the ESC heat range as it should not be any higher than about 30 degrees higher than the ambient....

The reason I grought this up is because I had to learn the hard way and the hard way gets very expensive
josereyes is offline Find More Posts by josereyes
Last edited by josereyes; Aug 19, 2012 at 05:59 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2012, 11:10 PM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2008
131 Posts
Jan,
Do you have a link to purchase the apache fuse. I think I am ready for the body. going on a 8 day vaca to stay home in a few weeks. It would be a great time to start the build.
Has anyone heard of these people and this heli?
http://www.scaleflying.com/AH-64-IAF...ct_p_1112.html

thanks
Buddy
buddertoast is offline Find More Posts by buddertoast
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2012, 11:57 PM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2008
131 Posts
Thank u Jose. It is always nice to learn from other peoples trial and error. I'm sure u saved me some $$$.
buddertoast is offline Find More Posts by buddertoast
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2012, 01:23 AM
Registered User
Horseman's Avatar
The Netherlands, FR
Joined Aug 2008
626 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by buddertoast View Post
Jan,
Do you have a link to purchase the apache fuse. I think I am ready for the body. going on a 8 day vaca to stay home in a few weeks. It would be a great time to start the build.
Has anyone heard of these people and this heli?
http://www.scaleflying.com/AH-64-IAF...ct_p_1112.html

thanks
Buddy
Smartmodels don't sell them anymore.
But you can order it by TF models.
The link you mention are RCA and they are good people, my scale blades are coming from them. as well my BlackHawk is from them trough the German dealer here in the EU.
The Apache they offer seems also a Smartmodel/TF kit.

Kind regards,

Jan,
Horseman is offline Find More Posts by Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2012, 07:05 AM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2008
131 Posts
I ordered it and the torque tube raise kit. Let's see what we get!!
buddertoast is offline Find More Posts by buddertoast
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2012, 07:17 AM
CW4
Registered User
Joined Aug 2012
68 Posts
Quote:
Has anyone heard of these people and this heli?
http://www.scaleflying.com/AH-64-IAF...ct_p_1112.html
I ordered that exact Apache from that link back in June. I received it in less than a week. Good stuff and good people. I also ordered the torque tube tail drive from them as well. Fast shipping if you live in the US.
CW4 is online now Find More Posts by CW4
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2012, 07:54 AM
Registered User
Horseman's Avatar
The Netherlands, FR
Joined Aug 2008
626 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by buddertoast View Post
I ordered it and the torque tube raise kit. Let's see what we get!!

You will be fine

Jan,
Horseman is offline Find More Posts by Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2012, 09:22 PM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2008
131 Posts
Also, how do u guys make the rivots. They look great.
buddertoast is offline Find More Posts by buddertoast
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2012, 02:29 AM
Registered User
Horseman's Avatar
The Netherlands, FR
Joined Aug 2008
626 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by buddertoast View Post
Also, how do u guys make the rivots. They look great.
Hi Buddy,

I know that Jay makes them from drips of canopy glue.

I draw them, but the canopy glue option are more real.

You can also order sets of plastic rivets, then you need to drill and glue.



Jan,
Horseman is offline Find More Posts by Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2012, 10:58 AM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2008
131 Posts
http://www.scalehardware.com/

Found these. Maybe cut the top off and glue them on.
buddertoast is offline Find More Posts by buddertoast
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2012, 11:27 AM
Registered User
josereyes's Avatar
United States, WA, Steilacoom
Joined Nov 2011
162 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by buddertoast View Post
http://www.scalehardware.com/

Found these. Maybe cut the top off and glue them on.
Mobile links not working
josereyes is offline Find More Posts by josereyes
Last edited by josereyes; Aug 21, 2012 at 11:36 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2012, 12:56 PM
Registered User
Horseman's Avatar
The Netherlands, FR
Joined Aug 2008
626 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by josereyes View Post
Mobile links not working

It works for me?

But a stunning website, never know that you can get bolts and nuts that smalllllllllllllll
Horseman is offline Find More Posts by Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2012, 09:42 PM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2008
131 Posts
Jan,

How did you order that left hand pitch arm. I need one....

thanks
Buddy
buddertoast is offline Find More Posts by buddertoast
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Smartmodel Apache AH64 + T-Rex 600 ESP Hummerfresse Scale Helicopters 33 Feb 18, 2012 12:47 PM
For Sale SYMA S009G AH-64 Apache 3 Channel Indoor Helicopter with Gyroscope $25.00 Shipped! Hellihawk Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 2 Jul 06, 2011 03:13 AM
Discussion 1st Look: HeliArtist 500 Size AH-64 Apache Fuselage BlackTitanium Scale Helicopters 18 Jan 16, 2010 03:14 AM
Rant AirHogs Reflex AH-64 3ch vs. other AH-64 Apache 3ch Sandbox\Hangar Jay-viator Micro Ready-to-Fly 56 Feb 01, 2009 04:21 PM
Video AH-64 Apache 450 size darthdrk Electric Heli Talk 3 Aug 07, 2008 12:37 AM