SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Oct 03, 2013, 01:50 PM
Joined Oct 2013
2 Posts
Discussion
new to footy's

I'm new to rc sailing and I have a few questions.
IM building one from a door skin and was wondering how tall the mast should be. All parts I want to make myself,I was going to make the mast from bamboo wrapped with butcher twine. I was wondering about what type of sail setup I should use. and lastly how to set up the servos. Any help would be appreciated. thank you all for a wonderful forum.
terry c is offline Find More Posts by terry c
Last edited by terry c; Oct 03, 2013 at 02:00 PM. Reason: misspellings
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 03, 2013, 03:09 PM
RC Newbie with lots of ideas
Chile, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Stgo
Joined Dec 2012
326 Posts
Take a look at my work on Footy's here. Bottom pictures show the build process:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/thomasa...7634084768525/

If you need help/info/measurements please ask me here.
tarmstro is offline Find More Posts by tarmstro
Old Oct 03, 2013, 04:28 PM
Joined Oct 2013
2 Posts
thanks for the very nice pics that helps me with the servo set up, I'm still not sure about the mast and boom
terry c is offline Find More Posts by terry c
Old Oct 03, 2013, 08:31 PM
RC Newbie with lots of ideas
Chile, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Stgo
Joined Dec 2012
326 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by terry c View Post
thanks for the very nice pics that helps me with the servo set up, I'm still not sure about the mast and boom
My mast is made from 3mm carbon fiber rods (solid, not tubes!). The z-wire is made from a bicycle wheel wire, bent in anglesand cut to lenght.

I attached the rods to the wire using some strong synthetic string, glued toghetes with AC-glue, and then some thermo-contractible plastic for protection and finish.
tarmstro is offline Find More Posts by tarmstro
Old Oct 04, 2013, 04:54 AM
Joined Sep 2013
33 Posts
I would have a look at the wealth of Footy related info at: